Computer randomly freezes - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2006, 10:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to whitedove Send a message via Yahoo to whitedove
Default Computer randomly freezes

I have a gateway 510 XL computer about 2 years old 3.00 gigahertz Intel Pentium 4
8 kilobyte primary memory cache
512 kilobyte secondary memory cache
It has been working okay until recently. It has been freezing up on me. I'll be doing something on it. working with e-mail, microsoft word etc. it freezes up and then the computer screen goes black. The lights on the Computer are still on so I know it hasn't shut down. I push the reset button and everything is fine
until it does it again. Any info on what the problem may be is appreciated.
whitedove
__________________

whitedove is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 10:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

have you installed/changed anything recently
run memtest
run virus etc...
CHECK YOUR COMPUTER temps this can cause you pc to freeze
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 12:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to whitedove Send a message via Yahoo to whitedove
Default

I haven't installed anything lately and I've got a pc health dr. on my computer. I've done that too and it says everything is fine. My virus test was okay too.
whitedove is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 01:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
STATus h2O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fayetteville, North Carolina
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to STATus h2O
Default

If you have more than one stick of RAM, take out all of them exept for one. Frequent locks up can be tied to RAM. Also open up the case and make sure there isn't a ton of dust on your heatsink and fan. If there is, blow it all out, clean it up. Overheating causes frequent lock ups as well.
__________________
<P><a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/1236/e6600vm1.jpg" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/4116/88002cw3.jpg" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/9990/uprstrancefan2gi8.gif" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/2838/winamp2cu9.png" border="0"></a>

<I>IM me on AIM @</I> <B>STATus H2o</B>
STATus h2O is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 02:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to whitedove Send a message via Yahoo to whitedove
Default

Thank you I'll try that.
whitedove is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.