Computer Not Starting - Blips On Then Off!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2005, 04:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Question Computer Not Starting - Blips On Then Off!!!

Well about a week ago i was playing BattleField 2, when all of a sudden... instant shutdown. Screen went black, and the computer was dead. I was like WTF, so I pressed the power button; nothing. I unplugged the power cord from the back of the PSU and plugged it back in, then hit the power button. The power came on for about 1/4 of a second, then turned off (the fans moved about an inch.) Then about a second later, it blipped on and off, then quit.

So, I thought it was my PSU. I went ahead and bought a nice Thermaltake PSU which arrived today. I installed it and hooked up all the power cords. I pressed the power button, and to my worst fear, it did the same thing, just blipped on then off.

So, WTH is wrong with my computer? Could the mobo be shorting on something? Is the mobo fried? Is the power connector on the mobo broken?? How come NOTHING starts up in my computer??? I checked the power button connector on the mobo, it looks fine. So, i dunno what the hell is wrong.

Any advice or answers would be much appreciated.
__________________

masterchief11 is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 04:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

try testing the new psu on a mates pc, just to check that it is not by chance another faulty psu.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 12:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Default

Yea thats what I thought, but the chances of that are pretty slim. I can't do it now since it's 11:30pm (well, i could but it would cause some ruckus), but i'll see if I can test it out on a friends pc tomorrow.

~~

Hypothesizing that it ISN'T the new PSU, what else could it be? I thought about it at work today, and I just don't understand what it could be. I plugged the power cord into a different outlet and into a different power strip, and it still wouldn't turn on, but my TV and a fan work on them two outlets, so I don't think I blew any fuses or whatever. And the power strip seems to be fine because my lamp, cable modem and router all work. So what in the hell could it be? I would think the fans should atleast run, or something. Maybe some power button soldering came undone on the connector or something, I dunno.

Anyone else?
masterchief11 is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 01:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 80
Default

strip your motherboard of all the parts and then try to turn it on
__________________
P5AD2-E-Premium
Intel 3.0 ghz 640j
Leadtek 6600gt extreme PCI-E
corsair 5400 (2 * 512)
bZerk vigor 500w
3R 202 case
Logitech z-680 5.1 speakers
Creative XFI external sound card
softhunder is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 01:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yeah try removing anything that is not necessary to boot, keep your graphics and the hdd. possibly the mother board is fried
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 01:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Default

That's what I'm thinking. x100

If it is, what would cause it to suddenly fry?

Could it be a virus? (i *ran Sygate firewall, AVG antivirus, Spybot, Ad-Aware, and a router, so I dunno if that bad of a virus could get in....who knows though.)

I'll do all the stripping tomorrow and post what I find (heh). Thanks for the help.
masterchief11 is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 08:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Could be that the psu failed, or the mobo. I don't think it could be a underpowered psu because you were using it previously.
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 08:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Default

Well, I think it's the mobo. I'm pulling all the parts out and reinstalling them now. If it doesn't work, I'll call a friend or something and ask if I can use their mobo. If that works, then it must be my motherboard. I just HOPE my CPU, RAM, video card, and hard drive (especially my hard drive - I just finished putting all of my passwords on a password keeper a few days before my comp died, and ripped up the paper copies [stupid me!!]) didn't go along with it.
masterchief11 is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 08:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default Re: Computer Not Starting - Blips On Then Off!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by masterchief11
Well about a week ago i was playing BattleField 2, when all of a sudden... instant shutdown. Screen went black, and the computer was dead. I was like WTF, so I pressed the power button; nothing. I unplugged the power cord from the back of the PSU and plugged it back in, then hit the power button. The power came on for about 1/4 of a second, then turned off (the fans moved about an inch.) Then about a second later, it blipped on and off, then quit.

So, I thought it was my PSU. I went ahead and bought a nice Thermaltake PSU which arrived today. I installed it and hooked up all the power cords. I pressed the power button, and to my worst fear, it did the same thing, just blipped on then off.

So, WTH is wrong with my computer? Could the mobo be shorting on something? Is the mobo fried? Is the power connector on the mobo broken?? How come NOTHING starts up in my computer??? I checked the power button connector on the mobo, it looks fine. So, i dunno what the hell is wrong.

Any advice or answers would be much appreciated.
The EXACT same thing happened to me about a month ago, thats why I have bought a new pc. When i say exact, i mean, EXACT. But for me, it was when listening to some music.

With the new pc here, i tried the ram in it, worked. Tried the dvd drive, worked.

Its ironic you said you also bought a psu, because I bought a new one too, nothing happened.

If i would guess, I would say your pc just overheated and plang, full shutdown. I would guess that its the motherboard.
Xiahou is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 08:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Default

BTW: My motherboard is an MSI K7N2 Delta L

~~

Well, I think i'm going to go ahead and buy a new mobo. Any suggestions for an AMD Athlon XP 2600? I'm thinking about the MSI K7N2 Delta2-LSR, but I don't know being my MSI mobo possibly just fried itself. I don't think it could've been overheating because I have 5 fans in my system, and I put arctic silver 5 on my CPU about a month ago... so I dunno.

I'll ask my dad to see if I can hook up my new PSU to his mobo to make sure it's not the new PSU's problem. If it works with his, then I think I'll go ahead and buy a new motherboard.
__________________

masterchief11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.