computer not starting - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2006, 06:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

yeah, i left it out for 20 minutes, and then tried it with no luck. i left it out all night. is there anyway i can reload the bios? thanks
__________________

__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 07:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

resetting the bios with the battery doesnt always work not to mention its not as easy as the other method , better use the jumper method see your motherboard manual for more info , anyway in my opinion the possible troublemakers are

a) does your graphic card have a 6pin pci-e power connector? if so maybe you didnt connect the cable to it

b) power supply - get a digital multimeter and see these guides
http://www.ochardware.com/articles/psuvolt/psuvolt.html
http://www.driverheaven.net/guides/testingPSU/
report back with the voltages

c) motherboard - check for bad smell also for bad capacitors see examples
http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=195
http://home.earthlink.net/~doniteli/index27.htm , even if it doesnt have neither it still doesnt rule it out

d) monitor - take it to a friend and see how it goes there,or attach it to your other computer (if you got one)

e) the ram - test it on a friends computer or on your other computer if you got one (of course make sure the motherboard supports that type of ram before doing it) , also check on the ram manufacturer site for motherboard compatbility and see if it was tested fine with your motherboard


and as for "nothing happend when i took the memory out" - a computer cant work with no ram well ok maybe it can but you just wont see anything ,
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 08:52 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jeremy
and as for "nothing happend when i took the memory out" - a computer cant work with no ram well ok maybe it can but you just wont see anything ,
It produces beep codes. If the board is bad, it will not produce beep codes.
silentex is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 10:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Default

im having kinda the same probem. is it possible it is the video card slot? can that break without affecting the rest of the board?
Tckarky is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 10:59 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

Tckarky, please start your own thread
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 02:17 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Dw i got it fixed. sorry about the highjack..
Tckarky is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 04:10 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

its alright, thanks who helped, a friend took my comp. He has some shuttle parts and hes going to test them. Thanks alot.
__________________

__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.