Computer not posting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2009, 10:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 75
Default Computer not posting

I recently got an intel core 2 quad Q9550 and i am upgrading from a core 2 duo e6300 i am on a Gigabyte GA-965P-S3 i am not able to boot with the new processor. Each time it will turn on then turn off and back on then will stay on. All the time the old processor was able to boot with the exception of one time that it got stuck however i just restarted and it booted fine. The New processor was able to half boot once however it never got into windows. Is my CPU simply D.O.A?

the CPU fan is plugged in
i have bios version F14
the CPU IS compatible with the board according to Gigabytes website

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
__________________

__________________
--madman1391

My computer
Intel core 2 duo e6300
gigabyte ga-965P
evga Nvidia 7900gs
250 gig segate 7200 rpm hd
20x lite on dvd burner
powered by rosewill 550W atx powersupply
with 3 gb patriot ddr2 800 memory
inside of an aspire X-discovery
all shown on a 19inch acer widescreen with a CRT to the side for dual display
madman1391 is offline  
Old 09-11-2009, 11:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Computer not posting

This CPU is NOT supported by the motherboard. Even on the Gigabyte site, it says it's not.

__________________

__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 09-11-2009, 01:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 75
Default Re: Computer not posting

oh man- i must have the Revision 1.0 and not 3.3 because on the chart that i saw

GIGABYTE - Support&Download - Motherboard - CPU Support List - GA-965P-S3 (rev. 3.3)

it said it was unofficially supported- would there be a way to see which revision i have?
__________________
--madman1391

My computer
Intel core 2 duo e6300
gigabyte ga-965P
evga Nvidia 7900gs
250 gig segate 7200 rpm hd
20x lite on dvd burner
powered by rosewill 550W atx powersupply
with 3 gb patriot ddr2 800 memory
inside of an aspire X-discovery
all shown on a 19inch acer widescreen with a CRT to the side for dual display
madman1391 is offline  
Old 09-11-2009, 02:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Computer not posting

Quote:
Originally Posted by madman1391 View Post
oh man- i must have the Revision 1.0 and not 3.3 because on the chart that i saw

GIGABYTE - Support&Download - Motherboard - CPU Support List - GA-965P-S3 (rev. 3.3)

it said it was unofficially supported- would there be a way to see which revision i have?
Non-Official support means, sometimes it'll work, but with limited success. If you do have the 3.3, it's possible the CPU is DOA, but I would be more inclined to blame the board. The easiest way to verify the revision, would be to look at the board itself. You could use something like CPU-Z or PC Wizard, but their revision detections aren't always accurate.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 09-11-2009, 02:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 75
Default Re: Computer not posting

ok thank you- i think i might see if i can return this to newegg- I'm looking at a core i7 setup (the brand new ones just recently came out!) since i have to upgrade my mobo anyways.
__________________
--madman1391

My computer
Intel core 2 duo e6300
gigabyte ga-965P
evga Nvidia 7900gs
250 gig segate 7200 rpm hd
20x lite on dvd burner
powered by rosewill 550W atx powersupply
with 3 gb patriot ddr2 800 memory
inside of an aspire X-discovery
all shown on a 19inch acer widescreen with a CRT to the side for dual display
madman1391 is offline  
Old 09-12-2009, 02:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
BonzNumber1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Regina, SK, Canada
Posts: 77
Default Re: Computer not posting

check there site though they may offer a bios update
__________________

BonzNumber1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Warning: Building a computer may lead to nervous breakdown! White_Wolf Off Topic Discussion 18 04-09-2009 06:43 PM
My computer is now stuck in a rebooting loop~ BentoBox Microsoft Windows and Software 17 03-22-2009 03:31 AM
Old Computer -> New Computer? JNorris57 System Upgrades 4 03-08-2009 10:19 PM
Need Video Card, Case, Mouse and Keyboard Suggestions r3vo1ution1991 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-06-2008 08:47 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.