Computer not fully reading my RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2008, 10:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default Computer not fully reading my RAM

So I just bought a new 1Gb stick of RAM for my computer but it's not reading completely. I have 2 other 512mb sticks in there and they work fine but when I added the 1gb stick, BIOS could only read that I had just over 1.5Gb of total RAM. I have 4 slots for RAM to go in, and the slots are alternately colored, green then purple (GPGP). My motherboard supports up to 4 gigs so I know thats not an issue, and I know for sure all 3 sticks work by themselves. I was thinking maybe it has something to do with the colors? I have situated the sticks in every order I can think of but the most I can ever get is 1.5Gb. Will getting another stick of RAM (to fill all 4 slots) help at all? How can I get all 2gb to work?
__________________

__________________
My rig (getting old):

Rosewill black case with 400W PSU (420W Thermaltake on the way)
MSI Nforce4-ultra Neo4 platnium
evga Nvidia 6600gt pci-e
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ winchester
Corsair ValueSelect 1 GB (2x512) RAM
Western Digital 80 GB SATA HDD (200 GB IDE coming soon)
AOpen combo drive
17\" LCD LG Monitor
Cheap Keys, Dell Mouse, no speakers

Gig \'em and God bless
tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 11:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Computer not fully reading my RAM

Hello,

What motherboard do you have?
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 11:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Computer not fully reading my RAM

It's probably the one in his sig.
MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum
brinks is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 02:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default Re: Computer not fully reading my RAM

yeah thats the one: MSI K8N Neo4 Platnium. I looked in the booklet it came with for help but couldnt find anything specific.
__________________
My rig (getting old):

Rosewill black case with 400W PSU (420W Thermaltake on the way)
MSI Nforce4-ultra Neo4 platnium
evga Nvidia 6600gt pci-e
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ winchester
Corsair ValueSelect 1 GB (2x512) RAM
Western Digital 80 GB SATA HDD (200 GB IDE coming soon)
AOpen combo drive
17\" LCD LG Monitor
Cheap Keys, Dell Mouse, no speakers

Gig \'em and God bless
tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 03:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Computer not fully reading my RAM

How much ram does your bios detect when you have these orders:
a> G1=512MB P1=1GB G2=512MB P2=Empty
b> G1=512MB P1=512MB G2=1GB P2=Empty
c> G1=512MB P1=Empty G2=512MB P2=1G
brinks is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 08:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Computer not fully reading my RAM

Might wanna add d...

d> G1 = Empty, P1 = 512MB, G2 = 512MB, P2 = 1G

It could be that a slot is fried, or the BIOS is having problems with an odd amount of sticks being installed.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 05:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default Re: Computer not fully reading my RAM

a. 1gb
b. 1.5gb
c. 1gb
d. 512mb

Note that when i tested G1=empty, p1=empty, G2=512mb, p2=1gb, it showed that I had 1gb total memory. Order D is the same as this, but with 512mb ADDED to p1, and it results in 512mb LESS overall memory than before.

Another strange configuration resulting in 512mb of read memory was:
G1=empty, P1=1GB, G2=512GB, P2=512GB

I cannot figure this out...
__________________
My rig (getting old):

Rosewill black case with 400W PSU (420W Thermaltake on the way)
MSI Nforce4-ultra Neo4 platnium
evga Nvidia 6600gt pci-e
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ winchester
Corsair ValueSelect 1 GB (2x512) RAM
Western Digital 80 GB SATA HDD (200 GB IDE coming soon)
AOpen combo drive
17\" LCD LG Monitor
Cheap Keys, Dell Mouse, no speakers

Gig \'em and God bless
tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 05:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Computer not fully reading my RAM

It looks like it doesn't like odd number sticks of ram, but this result threw me off abit.
G1=empty, p1=empty, G2=512mb, p2=1gb total=1gb...
I really thought it would have 1.5gb in this config.

What do you get if you do:
G1=512mb, p1=1gb, G2=empty, p2=empty
brinks is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 06:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Computer not fully reading my RAM

For the results
It reads all the green slots first, then ignores purple slots if a)green slots are not filled, b)purple slots are not filled.
brinks is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 11:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: Computer not fully reading my RAM

Best guess is that either A the third slot is evil.

Or B what brinks said. Can you find another 128 or 256mb chip cheap just to fill in the slot?
__________________

Dakaggo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
Need help with ram identification s37d System Upgrades 5 02-08-2008 02:22 AM
Moms Computer Build Dr DMoney New Systems | Building and Buying 14 01-30-2008 02:15 PM
Computer won't boot + RAM question. charlesviper Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-06-2007 04:59 AM
Cant seem to fix this dang computer morrty Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-11-2007 11:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.