Computer not booting past BIOS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2007, 03:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 273
Default Computer not booting past BIOS

My PC turns on and gets to the screen to go to the bios, but once it tries to go to windows it just shuts off. I just put a different CPU in and there is a chance it could be bad. If the CPU was broke would that cause the effect I'm getting?


Edit: It's not booting the BIOS. I get to the screen where it gives me the option to press DEL to go into BIOS then it lists my hardware and shuts off.
__________________

__________________
Laptop:
Dell E1705
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0GHz T7200
2GB DDR2 667MHz
80GB 5400RPM HDD
256MB nVidia 7900 GeForce Go

sayaprayer is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 04:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Sounds like the fan might not be working therefore causing your cpu to overheat and shut off before any damage can be caused. Check and see if the fan is plugged and working and/or make sure the heatsink is properly fastened.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 04:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 273
Default

Yes, one clip wasn't mounted. Thanks. Now I can at least get into the BIOS but it won't boot windows still. It recognizes my HDDs and DVD drives. I set the DVD and HDD to priority in the boot menu. I get to the "windows did not shut down properly boot in safe mode" menu. So when I select anything it just restarts from there.
__________________
Laptop:
Dell E1705
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0GHz T7200
2GB DDR2 667MHz
80GB 5400RPM HDD
256MB nVidia 7900 GeForce Go

sayaprayer is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Run a chkdsk /r using the windows install disk. If that doesnt work, run a full repair to reinstall the potentially corrupted os data.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 05:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Good advice, bobojuice. I'd try running Memtest too just to rule out the possibility of your ram having a problem. Since you're not getting a bsod it's probably fine but that's the next thing I'd check after doing who bobojuice said.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 05:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 273
Default

I'm running a check disk right now. It seems like it takes a really long time. Its been going over an hour and its only like 67% done. Is the normal?
__________________
Laptop:
Dell E1705
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0GHz T7200
2GB DDR2 667MHz
80GB 5400RPM HDD
256MB nVidia 7900 GeForce Go

sayaprayer is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 05:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Yeah, the chkdsk takes forever sometimes. Thats why when im doing those i just set it and forget it. Let us know what happens after its completed.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 07:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 273
Default

After the check disk I repaired my install... got the blue screen o' death. I'm probably looking at a reformat I figure. Thanks alot of all the help. Any other last minute suggestions?
__________________
Laptop:
Dell E1705
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0GHz T7200
2GB DDR2 667MHz
80GB 5400RPM HDD
256MB nVidia 7900 GeForce Go

sayaprayer is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 08:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Did you run a full repair? If not, i'd try it first.

Boot from your cd, hit enter like youre going to install, f8 to agree, then the cd will start searching for previous versions of windows, when it pops up and says would you like to repair hit yes or R or whatever. That'll reinstall the OS files and not overwrite your data. Unless of course you dont mind formatting. If that's the case, i'd say do a clean install.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 08:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 273
Default

Yeah I did a full repair. I've already tossed the HDD in another PC and started copying my files over. A full install shouldn't be too painful. Thanks again for all your help.
__________________

__________________
Laptop:
Dell E1705
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0GHz T7200
2GB DDR2 667MHz
80GB 5400RPM HDD
256MB nVidia 7900 GeForce Go

sayaprayer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.