Computer non-responsive when executing programs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2007, 10:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Computer non-responsive when executing programs

Hi, I built my gaming rig last christmas, and it has served me pretty well except for one annoying problem. And frankly, it's starting to get very old.

Basically, when I start some programs, my computer seems non-responsive when I click the icon. This happens on games too. For example, I'll double-click Toca Race Driver 3 on my desktop, and hear cpu activity for a bit. Then, nothing will happen for several minutes. I'll just be sitting on my desktop.

It's as if I never launched the program in the first place. Out of frustration, I'll click the icon again, to have the same situation duplicated. Next, I CTRL+ATL+DEL, only to see "racedriver.exe" on my apps :x . Finally, 10 minutes later, the program will actually execute and I'll see the game running. In fact, I make a habit to leave my room for a bit when I launch games such as Race Driver 3, BF2142, and CS Source, because of the time I spend waiting for them to really launch onto my screen.

This happens in more than just games. My rig acts like it's down-right bogged when running other programs. I find myself closing internet explorer windows all of the time due to them not responding. I had to configure my microphone yesterday, only to find the wizard crash on me two or three times.

I really don't know where to start if this is a hardware issue. My old Pentium4 HP wouldn't do anything as odd as this, ever. I ran two instances of memtest overnight, and it returned no errors. I'm using Windows MCE 2005, thanks for your help
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 03:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default Re: Computer non-responsive when executing programs

Try running memtest you may have some memory problems developing .
You can run scandisk or the western digital utility to check your drive on boot up .You may have an OS corruption problem or virus . Also look at your power monitor in BIOS make sure your voltages look ok .
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 12:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: Computer non-responsive when executing programs

Ok I ran memtest and it returned no errors. Voltages in BIOS seem ok. I have not overclocked this machine, so I never changed them. After running scandisk, it returned this. "Windows was unable to complete the check"



I can't help but believe this isn't a good sign...
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 03:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 207
Default Re: Computer non-responsive when executing programs

Is your boot drive the same drive you run your games off of? Does your machine act the same for every app you try to run or just a couple games you have?
poorman is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 04:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: Computer non-responsive when executing programs

Yes I only have one HDD. So I run games and everything. No, it doesn't act the same with all programs...all of the time anyway. It's probably something with my OS. I just defragged my HDD, and now I'm working on disabling startup services. I've cut my commit charge down quite a bit by doing it, and I'm only halfway done. I'll update again soon.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Cant seem to fix this dang computer morrty Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-11-2007 11:09 PM
Web browsers connecting to internet but not computer programs... alando43 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 06-11-2007 07:27 PM
Internet Browsers connecting but not computer programs.... alando43 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 0 06-10-2007 11:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.