Computer Lockup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2006, 05:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to Sibre Send a message via Yahoo to Sibre
Default Computer Lockup

Hello,

My computer has seriously been annoying me lately. I can't do anything productive with it, as it constantly locks up on me.

Here's my problem:
For the last couple years, my computer has occasionally made beeping/clicking sound. It sounded digital, but almost mechanical...really hard to describe. There was no specific program or process that I could find that caused it. It was pretty random. It was also ALWAYS the same pattern. While it did that, the computer would stop responding, but as soon as it stopped, the computer went back to normal. It only lasted a couple of seconds, but was annoying nonetheless.

However, in the last couple months, it's been freezing up altogether. I can predict when it starts to happen, too, especially if I have sound going. I will first hear part of the click, and then any programs on my computer will halt up. My mouse will still move, but nothing else responds. If there was any sound playing, it will begin to loop back to when the click started, over and over, for about 10 seconds, then it will stop, and a second or 2 later, the mouse will freeze and the entire system will lockup. Only way to get it back up is to reset the system.
It happens too often (numerous times a day, sometimes about 5 or 6 times in a row while trying to start up computer) to just dismiss as a slight annoyance.

Here's my current system (has changed a number of times in the past):
Soyo Dragon KT400 ULTRA Platinum motherboard
512MB Kingston RAM
AMD Athlon Thunderbird 1.2 Ghz
Nvidia GeForce 6600 256MB video
IBM Deskstar 120GB hard drive
Sony DRU-810A DVD-/+RW Dual-Layer Burner
Antec True430 Power Supply

The oldest part on there, and the only one that hasn't been upgraded is the processor. The click happened even with the original configuration, which leads me to believe that it's the CPU going out, but I'm still not sure.

I have read in a number of places about hard drives failing causing a similar problem as mine, but I'm not sure yet that the drive is what's causing my problem.

If anyone has any suggestions, I would be glad to hear them. I'm considering buying a laptop (this is a really good opportunity now, since I really need one anyway, and this just kinda gives that extra push), and eventually rebuilding the desktop to get up-to-date with technology and speed. But, if I can keep this computer running longer, then no need to upgrade it quite yet.
__________________

Sibre is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 05:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 318
Default

Im a bit of a noob at this sort of stuff but it could be virus,spyware etc but it sounds more like something physcially wrong.
Make sure you have all these installed on your comp as they are great tools. All free

-CCleaner
http://www.ccleaner.com/ccdownload.asp

-Spybot S & D
http://www.safer-networking.org/en/download/index.html

-Adaware Proffesional
http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/...eprofessional/

-Some sort of anti-virus
AVG(its free but not the greatest, NOD32 is the best i think but its costs $$$)
http://www.majorgeeks.com/download886.html

-Microsoft Defender(i havent tried this and havent looked into it much i use Microsfot Anti-spyware beta but i couldnt find that, c wat the other members say about this)
http://www.microsoft.com/athome/secu...e/default.mspx

Other thing may be your comp is full of dust and crap. Vacuming it out and the area around it could help.

Hope tht helps.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=2883\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/2883.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
DynaSig: <a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net\">Dynamic Forum Signature</a>
Crusader is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 01:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to Sibre Send a message via Yahoo to Sibre
Default

Thanks for the tip...however I am certain that it is not a virus/spyware, as it does this while I'm working with Linux as well, and I tend to keep my system very clean.

Thanks, though.
Sibre is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 02:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

sounds like a dieing hard drive , get it checked with drive fitnesss test
http://www.hitachigst.com/hdd/suppor...2_v406_b00.exe (for floppy) or http://www.hitachigst.com/hdd/suppor...2_v406_b00.iso (for cd) , user guide: http://www.hitachigst.com/downloads/...user_guide.pdf

to create the floppy run dft32_v406_b00.exe and follow instructions , to burn the iso file run nero and in menu goto recorder-->burn image or in nero express click "disc image or saved project" if your using any other burning software then i cant explain , but you might wanna use imgburn http://www.afterdawn.com/software/cd...ls/imgburn.cfm which is very easy to use
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 04:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to Sibre Send a message via Yahoo to Sibre
Default

After further examination, (and standing with my head in my open case for a long time waiting for it to happen again), I have found that the click is coming from the HD.
Will run the tests you recommended on it, and see what's up. I am still going to get the laptop, though, as I have determined that the HD is not the only issue...with a friend's good HD in there, it still freezes up, though not nearly as often.
Thanks for the help.
Sibre is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 05:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

and i assume you dont hear a click from your friend's hd when it freezes right? , anyway there could be a few reasons

1) bad capacitors,have a good look on the mobo (perferably with a flashlight) , see examples
http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=195
http://home.earthlink.net/~doniteli/index27.htm
if youll find such capacitors, they can be easily replaced at any electronic repair shop it wouldnt cost much

2) cpu overheating/unstable psu voltages - get into the bios and goto pc health/hardware monitoring and report back with the temperature & voltages

you welcome
anyway if your gonna get a laptop better get a decent one and not a gaming laptop as a gaming laptop will cost alot more then a desktop gaming pc
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 06:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to Sibre Send a message via Yahoo to Sibre
Default

Well, I ran the advanced check (haven't done the exerciser yet), and everything came out ok (code 0x00).

In regards to the capacitors: I checked like you suggested and couldn't find anything.

As for the temperature: I have seen it go up above the max of 95deg in the past (99 I believe the last time I saw it), and immediately shut down and let it cool...and replaced the fan with a better one, which worked great. However, the onboard sensor no longer works (go figure)... just constantly reports a temperature of -7deg.

I think I'm going to use this computer for as long as necessary until I get my laptop, and then put it away until it can be upgraded (basically completely rebuilt).

Oh, and the laptop I'm getting is the MacBook Pro that recently came out. Need to get a Mac for my school stuff (another reason I'm getting the laptop...not just cause of desktop issues), and pretty much the only game I play on computer is WoW, which runs on Mac, so that's not an issue.

Thanks again for the help. If I find any more information on what else could be wrong with my machine, I'll post.

Sorry if I sound too noobish...i deal more with software than with hardware.
__________________

Sibre is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.