Computer Lagging and Restarting

Status
Not open for further replies.

andy345

In Runtime
Recently my computer has been lagging when I multi-task. When I was listening to music it would make the music lag even when I did simple things like open Firefox. So today I reinstalled windows to see if it would fix the problem and it didn't fix it. I got all the latest drivers to see if that would help but it is still lagging. But now my computer has restarted randomly twice. Both times when it came back on it said it had recovered from a serious error. One time it blamed it on my wireless device(which i don't think is true because I have been using the same device and drivers for 2 years) and the second time it just blamed it on drivers. Both times that it happened my screen just turned black and I heard my hard drives restart. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions as to what the problem could be and how I can fix it.

Besides a possible drive failure in progress or mishap with video drivers and updates there are two main things you can look over. Upon seeing sudden restarts you may be faced with a temp problem from dust clogged fans seeing high temps for the cpu and board in general. Another item commonly overlooked is a simple $3 battery found on the board itself.

First examing temps and running a drive diagnostic tool from the drive's manufacturer will help rule out any hardware problems besides the cpu and more likely need to update the bios if the battery or new replacement fails to any improvement. Finding out that the driver updates for the wrong version of Windows or particular device like video card going on would be another thought to consider.

Less than 2 weeks ago i took my computer completely apart and cleaned all the dust and put new compound on the cpu so it is clean. Also the temperatures are

Monitoring Chip : ITE IT8718F
Voltage CPU : 1.33 V
Aux. : 3.38 V
+3.3V Voltage : 1.79 V
+5V Voltage : 5.02 V
+12V Voltage : 13.65 V
FSB_VTT : 1.79 V