Computer Keeps shutting down?? Plz Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2005, 10:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 72
Default Computer Keeps shutting down?? Plz Help

I have recently bought parts for a new computer. I put everthing together normally as i would, and when i try to install the operating system the computer just shuts down? It will boot up normally and run all the necessary tests then beeps a few times and turns off? If anyone has any ideas plz tell me!!

chooka is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 11:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 72

If it helps its a P4 3ghz cpu, mobo is gigabyte, 512 generic ram 120g seagate hdd, LG dvd burner......I have never come across anything like it? Could it be dodgey hardware??

chooka is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 05:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer

wow i have the same problem man. and im stumped and pissed cause i just spent 130$ on what i thaught it was. damnit!
mine just shuts off in the bios. how bout urs?
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 05:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760

" then beeps a few times and turns off?"

How many times exactly does it beep ?
And what mobo exactly do you have... I know its a gigabyte ( so don't scream GIGABYTE ! )

How far along the bootup process does it get...
Is it always at the same spot when it shuts down on you ?

If its heat :
open your case and put a house fan pointing towards the inside to temporarily cool it down and see if you can get further.

Check the HS/Fan to make sure they are properly sat.
brady is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 07:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102

You definitely have a significant hardware conflict there dude. Run a minimal startup with only the video card, ram and hd connected and see if you can log into the bios. If not, one of those is the culprit. If you can boot in then start adding stuff until it foobars. then the last hardware componenet added is a candidate becoming a frisbee!!!
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.