Computer Just Died. Any Ideas? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2005, 11:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 38
Default Computer Just Died. Any Ideas?

I was working on my computer when all of a sudden the Blue Screen of Death appeared. It started doing a "memory dump" and I waited about 30 seconds and then I tried Crtl,Alt,Del and nothing happened so I just held the power button until it turned itself off. When I turn it back on, the computer starts just like normal, the power light comes on and the fans start up, but the monitor stays in standby mode, nothing ever comes up on the monitor. I have a second computer connected to this monitor via a KVM switch, so I know the monitor is fine. Any ideas what is wrong or how I can diagnose what the problem is? I mean if you can't see the screen, what can you do? Is is the motherboard or what? Thanks for any input.
__________________

KingOfHearts is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 12:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

sounds like a faulty video card/faulty motherboard if the graphics are integrated.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 12:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

does it beep?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 12:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Reseat the Video card and clear the CMOS.

If you can try that video card in another computer or try another video card in the computer that "died".
Ste is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 01:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 38
Default

1. No, it does not beep

2. There is no video card, it is integrated into the mobo

3. How do I clear the CMOS?

Thanks.
KingOfHearts is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 01:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Intergrated Graphics, Ouch.


Find a small coin like battery on your motherboard.

Carefully take it out for 1 -3 minutes, you may have to move a clip out of the way holding it in.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 01:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

obviously your pc has to be turned off when you remove it. the plug may still be in at the wall but the power socket must be turned off otherwise the cmos may still be receiving power and removing the battery will have no effect. i would check that your ram is still seated properly and if you have more than one stick of ram try them seperately. to avoid frying the ram with static: leave the computer plugged in but turned off at the wall, touch the metal chassis of the computer every now and then or keep your arm against it or you could use a static strap.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 01:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Ya, I kinda hope you figured that one out. Humans + live Voltage don't mix. Computers componenst + static electricity also don't mix.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 02:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 38
Default

Ok guys, thanks I will try all of your suggestions and report back later.
KingOfHearts is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 02:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

A quicker way is to move the jumpers on your motherboard that would reset the CMOS. But you gotta find those jumpers, its different for each motherboard.
__________________

__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.