Computer isn't starting... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2009, 07:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Computer isn't starting...

So I'm fixing my friend's computer and long story short, it's finally done. Case is new, mobo is new but the rest of it is old. Everything seems to be hooked up right but it won't boot up. Nothing comes up on a monitor, none of the fans work, the only thing that works is the led in front of the case which just blinks on and off over and over. The main power wires are connected and the switches are set up properly according to the manual. So does anyone have any ideas? Although I had it running manually before I got the case and the fans were running.
__________________

Dakaggo is offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 07:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Computer isn't starting...

Manually? How so?
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 04-17-2009, 07:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default

I connected the power um... things >_>. You know the small metal rods... with a piece of metal. A few people suggested it in a different thread.

I'd really appreciate any advice I can get, I'm seeing my friend tomorrow and sunday and I'd like to be able to give him his computer then.
Dakaggo is offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 08:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Computer isn't starting...

Please do not bump your topic before 24hours has gone by.

Have you tried a different PSU? Different videocard? Triple checked all wire connections? Made sure all RAM/expansion cards are seated tightly?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 09:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: Computer isn't starting...

I'm 100% sure the PSU is working I had it tested a couple of weeks ago and tested it myself earlier. Video card is new and wouldn't affect the rest of the computer, fans would turn on and the LED wouldn't be blinking. Wire connections are accurately placed as far as I can tell. No expansion cards and.....ram is in properly. Tested the ram a few weeks ago so it should be working.
Dakaggo is offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 10:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Computer isn't starting...

The problem is either in the hookups for the switch, or the motherboard is grounding out.

Did you use standoffs behind the board?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 04-17-2009, 10:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: Computer isn't starting...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
The problem is either in the hookups for the switch, or the motherboard is grounding out.

Did you use standoffs behind the board?
It could be grounding... It had bumps in it presumably to place the motherboard. Should I have put something inbetween? It didn't come with anything as far as I could tell. Should I loosen or tighten the motherboard? Grounding certainly sounds like a possibility.
Dakaggo is offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 10:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Computer isn't starting...

You need to get brass standoffs to put in the motherboard mounts and screw the board down to that.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 10:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: Computer isn't starting...

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
You need to get brass standoffs to put in the motherboard mounts and screw the board down to that.
... well a couple things..

First off why wouldn't it come with that?

Secondly, if it is grounded is there an easy way to tell? Should I just keep it from touching the case? Would I want a non-conductive material like wood or cardboard for that?
Dakaggo is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 02:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Computer isn't starting...

The case should have come with brass standoffs.

Easiest way to tell: take the board out of the case and set it on a wood table or something and then try to start it up.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote starting a computer ? Stork DK Programming 8 10-09-2008 07:39 PM
New HDD make computer not starting guaise Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 10-09-2008 04:43 AM
Upgrading Questions! yoshi1476 System Upgrades 14 09-30-2008 09:36 AM
Computer Jokes. Kharn Off Topic Discussion 8 12-19-2007 12:09 AM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.