Computer help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2006, 12:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to jrdwstfll
Default Computer help

ok, this is the situation and what i;ve tried and nothing seems to work.. want to get everyone else's opinion.

First, I just got back from college and before college it worked fine. When I was gone my parents moved it like 10 feet.

Ok now for what happened, the first time I turned it on it worked, but ran EXREMELY slow. So i tried rebooting it and then got what I have now. It starts and then won;t load windows it fills up the bars to start windows (if you know what I mean) then it goes to the windows logo and restarts. IT does that everytime. I tried each memory individually to see if it was that and it's not. The only other thing i can think of is a corrupt windows.

Let me know what you guys think and anything else I could do before I do the long process of putting another windows on it.

thanks
__________________

__________________
<iframe src=\"http://gamercard.xbox.com/jrdwstfll.card\" scrolling=\"no\" frameBorder=\"0\" height=\"140\" width=\"204\">Jrdwstfll</iframe>
jrdwstfll is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 01:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Do you get BSOD? If the computer was moved and accidently dropped, you may have a damaged hard drive. If you have another hard drive, I would jumper the old HD as a slave, reinstall windows on the new drive and salvage your data that way. Otherwise, if you do not need the data currently on the drive I would do a fresh install of XP. Additionally, check the IDE or SATA cable connectin on that drive and make sure it is secure. Can you Enter Safe Mode? Hit F8 at post and select Safe Mode with networking. If you can enter Safe Mode, do a system restore for a date prior to when the puter was moved. Tell your parents, "Leave my &%^# alone!!!"
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 02:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to jrdwstfll
Default

yea safe mode doesn't work... my hard drive with windows on it has no data i need.. i have a slave drive with all my data


when the computer restarts.. i see a quick flash of blue.. so i guess i get a BSOD
__________________
<iframe src=\"http://gamercard.xbox.com/jrdwstfll.card\" scrolling=\"no\" frameBorder=\"0\" height=\"140\" width=\"204\">Jrdwstfll</iframe>
jrdwstfll is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.