Computer freezing while under load - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2013, 05:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Computer freezing while under load

Hey all,

Recently my computer has started to freeze while under load. No error, no warning messages come up, just freezes DEAD in its tracks, and does NOTHING until I manually reset it. I can keep it running and on for days and weeks at a time, but while it is under load, it freezes without warning.

Originally I thought this was a software issue with Plex Media Server, as this was occurring anytime that the customer was doing video trans-coding, such as watching a movie on a Plex Android phone client over the internet. It would work for a few minutes, then freeze, and I would have to reset the computer for it to reboot and work again.

Today, I went to play some Starcraft 2, and again, I get the issue with freezing. I can't get more than 5 minutes into a game without it locking up. I am thinking perhaps I have a TEMPERATURE issue, but I am not certain.

I am running a fully up to date Windows 7 Ultimate machine, and also just fully updated the AMD drivers for the video card.


Is there anything I can do to look at what is happening JUST BEFORE the freeze? I have looked at Windows event viewer, and I can't find anything before the freeze, but it lists a minute afterwards saying something about unexpected reboot. Is there anything I can enable to get more info or anything?

I'm not really sure what to do...


Specs:

Gaming Rig: GA-X38-DQ6, Intel Q9550 @ 2.83 Ghz, TRUE (MX-2 & 2 SFF21D), Crucial Ballistix 4GB DDR 800,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, OCZ Agility 3 60 Gig, 4x 7200.11 ST3500320AS, WD20EARS,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T, Antec P280, Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 7 Ultimate - PLEX Media Server
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 06:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Computer freezing while under load

For temperatures, run something like HWMonitor and turn on logging (I think it has this feature... if not, use some software that has logging options). That way you can see what your actual temps are.

Have you tried updating all of your drivers? GPU, Network (both Wireless and ethernet if available), chipset, etc?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 09:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Computer freezing while under load

I know with SC2 one of the things that used to be an issue (I don't know if the fix was client side hotfix or if it was a manual thing to do) was the main menu would never cap fps and would just use as much of your gpu resources as it could take, and it would cause a lot of temp issues and lockups.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 10:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Computer freezing while under load

OK,

so at this point, I have updated all of the drivers that I can.

GPU
Chipset
Audio
LAN


I have had Core Temp installed and running on this machine since I upgraded to Win 7 Ultimate. I went through many of the logs just before a crash was seen, and in each instance, I see nothing indicating elevated CPU temps.

I have looked at over a dozen CSV's from the logging spanning weeks and weeks and weeks. The HIGHEST temp I have seen (sorted data by value to make sure) was 120* F (which is UNDER 49* C, and that ain't bad if I say so.)


At this point, I haven't done any further testing, but I am searching for software that can log the GPU temps for me. I have a GPU monitor gadget on my desktop, but I don't know that I trust it, as it has always been goofy for me, and for the LONGEST time wouldn't report ANY values. Anyways, It shows that under 0% GPU load, right now as I type this, that the IDLE temps are 170-172* F (77-78* C). I have to do some reading, but holy COW..... that seems HOT for idle.....


As for the SC2 menu, that isn't the issue. I can let it sit at the menu for a while without issues. I have an authentication app on my phone which I need to login, and it took at least 45 minutes for me to finally get it working the other day. This freeze happens after only about 5 minutes or so of actual gameplay. Same thing seems to happen when transcoding video for that amount of time.


[EDIT]
Ok, so after a little research, it seems that 70-80* C idle for a 4870 is perfectly normal. I got a temp monitoring program just in case, and will be setting it up shortly.

Another thing I thought of is that I am using a 64 gig SSD as my C: drive, and there is only a few gigs free. I moved the page file to another drive to see if that changes anything.
[/EDIT]
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 11:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Computer freezing while under load

Ok, I think they've fixed that SC2 main menu issue then. If you get AIDA64 (the successor of everest) you can enable logging and it'll save either an html or csv log on your computer with the data you wanna select. Also this feature is available in the trial version.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 04:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Computer freezing while under load

Well, the updating of the drivers and the changing of the page file had ZERO effect on the issue.

I got AIDA64 set up, but i am still trying to figure out how to get the logging to work for me properly. Unless it only logs ONCE in the freeware version. I dunno.

When running any of the stress tests in AIDA64, the machine locks up within a MINUTE. The GPU stress tests alone ran good for over 5 minutes though. I think it is something with the CPU that is hosed..... Just not sure.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 05:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Computer freezing while under load

I ran it as an html and had a decent amount of logging info (and they make it look pretty too!). If you go to preferences and down to logging you can specify the output and it'll save the file with a time stamp and all the info.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 05:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Computer freezing while under load

Gah, it was a PEBKAC issue.... I was the problem between the Keyboard and the chair.... I had logging set up, but then I restarted after changing the page file info. Forgot to start the software up again.... NOW that it is RUNNING, it is logging wonderfully every few seconds.... GAH!!!

Going brain dead over here.....
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 06:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Computer freezing while under load

haha time to sit back for a night with a couple beers and watch some tv Hopefully the logging comes up with something useful information
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 12:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Computer freezing while under load

Well, as I have feared, the logging reveals nothing. It goes about it's business logging away every few seconds right up to the freeze, and nothing is any different that I have noticed in the last few moments than it is normally.

Found a new way to freeze it today. Watching youtube videos. I had 2 or 3 freezes right in the middle of videos. No warning, just BOOM, FROZEN.
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.