Computer freezes, won't start - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2007, 05:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 84
Default Computer freezes, won't start

I have recently(2 weeks ago?) replaced a fried motherboard. My computer been working perfectly since then until now.

I was playing Linerider, and was getting a track from someone. I put the track in, and started and then my computer froze. I tried restarting it, and it wouldn't get passed the splash screen(It says Gigabyte in big letters and won't get passed that). I waiting like an hour, and tried again. It started fine then a few minutes later it froze again, and same thing happened. I left it overnight, tried in the morning, same thing. Then after school I tried booting into safe mode, it also froze a few minutes later.
Anyone know whats wrong? I don't think that it's overheating, because for the few minutes it stayed on I checked the temps and the cpu was sitting at 40-42c and the case about 25c
__________________

tzvii is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 06:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 146
Default Re: Computer freezes, won't start

Reset the CMOS. Also try removing any extra hardware you've installed. see if that solves the problem then put the hardware back in one at a time.
__________________

__________________
http://www.geocities.com/signature_s...dphxnoedge.jpg
System: Athlon 64 X2 3800+
EVGA Geforce 8600 GTS 256mb PCIE
ECS (pile of crap) Mobo
1.5 GB Corsair PC3200
Soundblaster Audigy Pro
Windows XP Pro, Lemming Optimized.
ShackledPhoenix is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 06:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 84
Default Re: Computer freezes, won't start

What does resetting the cmos do? I don't mean how will it fix it, I mean what will it change? Also, could you give me a link to where it says how? Or I think I saw how in the mobo manual... I'll check.

Looked in manual, it shows two ways: Short the two pins or take out the battery for a few minutes. Which should I do? And I do short the pins when the computer is on or off?
tzvii is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 12:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default Re: Computer freezes, won't start

When you reset the CMOS, it clears all the custom BIOS setting back to the manufactures default settings. Often on setting can cause system instability.

Yes, follow the manual's directions. You do this when the computer is off, and unplug the power cord. Take out the battery, slider the jumper over one pin, keep the jumper there for a few seconds, then replace it back to the orginal pins, and replace the battery. Thats how you reset the CMOS.

If you had any custom settings in the BIOS you will have to reenter them.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 04:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default Re: Computer freezes, won't start

I was reading over this thread a second time, and saw that you replaced your motherboard. Was it with the same exact version and manufacturer you had before? If not, did you wipe your drive and install windows? Often when you change motherboards, there are a lot of differences between hardware and on board settings. If you dont reinstall windows you can run into problems with stability and such.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 12:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 84
Default Re: Computer freezes, won't start

Quote:
Originally Posted by AND_YOU_ARE View Post
I was reading over this thread a second time, and saw that you replaced your motherboard. Was it with the same exact version and manufacturer you had before? If not, did you wipe your drive and install windows? Often when you change motherboards, there are a lot of differences between hardware and on board settings. If you dont reinstall windows you can run into problems with stability and such.
It's with the exact same version and manufacture, I had just sent it in for a replacement(Still under warrenty)

I didn't reinstall windows, but just reset the CMOS. That did the trick for like 2 days, then I started getting a bunch of BSOD errors.. I'm re-installing Vista right now, hopefully that will fix the BSOD's.
tzvii is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 01:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: Computer freezes, won't start

Quote:
Originally Posted by tzvii View Post
It's with the exact same version and manufacture, I had just sent it in for a replacement(Still under warrenty)

I didn't reinstall windows, but just reset the CMOS. That did the trick for like 2 days, then I started getting a bunch of BSOD errors.. I'm re-installing Vista right now, hopefully that will fix the BSOD's.
You could of gotten a different revision of your motherboard. A reinstall should be a safe bet on fixing the problem.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 07:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 84
Default Re: Computer freezes, won't start

Reinstalled Windows, and now I'm back to the original problem. It randomly restarts, and won't get passed the splash screen. I tried reseting CMOS again, but that didn't help this time.
I could just send everything back to Newegg (Everything is still under warranty, except for the processor which still has Intel's warrenty) and just get everything replaced. But then I have to pay shipping, and it's just a big hassle. Still open to any suggestions as to what to do.

Edit: Just realized I forgot to install mobo drivers. I'm installling them now. Hopefully that will fix it. (Onboard LAN might be what was messing up. I think one of the blue screens was an error with something like tcpip.sys)
__________________

tzvii is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
computer cant start in normal mode danmanzcool1 HijackThis Logs (finished) 9 04-23-2007 08:34 AM
Computer Doesn't Start up! cbo0485 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 04-17-2007 10:20 PM
Computer Freezes, while gaming and ect. hasse Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-10-2007 07:23 PM
Computer freezes during boot-up poveren Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-30-2007 04:46 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.