Computer freezes randomly - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2005, 10:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Default Computer freezes randomly

Hi,

I'm having a serious problem with my computer. My power supply was getting insanely loud, so I decided to replace it. I bought a new 430w quiet power supply and installed it. When I turned my computer on, I couldn't get windows to start. The computer would restart while windows was loading up. So I took the power supply out and put the new one back in. Now my computer keeps freezing randomly. It froze a few times on the menu where you select safe mode or normal mode. It froze a few times while Windows was starting. And a few times I actually got Windows to load and then it froze a few minutes later, either while I was browsing the web or trying to start a program.

Did I mess something up inside my computer? What might be causing this problem and what can I do to fix it?

Thanks,
Todd
__________________

todd007 is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 11:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Still sounds like a crappy PSU to me.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 11-28-2005, 12:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

What brand PSU did you buy and how many watts? also are all your fans working CPU espcially? Check the temps in the bios or if you can in windows.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.