Computer Freezes randomly - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2005, 08:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Default Computer Freezes randomly

Hey guys this is my first post on this forum, i'll try to make it a good one.

The computer is generic, with an unknown motherboard and a AMD Duron 1800 processor running at 1400 mhz(the bios will not let me keep it at 1800). I have 256 mb of ram, but 8 is used for the onboard videocard.The hard drive is 40 gb. I am running windows XP.

I have been having this problem with my computer. My mom bought it in 2002 when i graduated. It was working perfectly fine untill 6 months ago. It went from random blue screens while surfing the web to just freezing. I have noticed that it freezes when im online more than off(cable internet). It also freezes when im on AIM too. Im not sure if it has anything to do with internet at all.One day i was messing around inside the case and broke the cpu fan. I went to buy another one and cracked the processor in the process of putting teh cpu fan on, so i replaced the cpu with a duron 1800.About a month or so later, I noticed that the power supply got very very hot and at one point it would freeze 5 minutes after being turned on. I replaced the power supply and it fixed the problem for about a week and it startted freezing again so i added a case fan, nothing. Its getting very very annoying...does anybody know what else i should take a look at?
__________________

ITw@annbee02 is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 10:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to crh0872 Send a message via Yahoo to crh0872
Default

Wow, no wonder nobody replied yet.
I haven't had an issue that bad, but the fact that you don't really know what brand of motherboard makes me suspicious. You could try replacing it, it's probably not that expensive (get an ASUS) but it could also be the RAM. I think it's your mobo, though. Make sure you have the right drivers for everything.
Is the ethernet connecter for the internet on the motherboard or on a separate PCI card?
__________________

__________________
caLMaN

Asus P4P 800-E Deluxe, Intel P4 3.0 GHz
1GB RAM, ATI Radeon X1300 pro 256 mb
20GB maxtor, 250GB western digital
crh0872 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 04:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Default

The ethernet connector is on the actual motherboard right by the usb ports, but my cable modem can be connected with either a usb or ethernet and im using usb. The reason i say its an unknown motherboard is because i tried to run a program that would tell me what hardware i have, and the motherboard didnt come up. I had the manual at one time, but i lost it and i do remember it being some unknown company. I was thinking that it could be the video card, because when it freezes some of the lines of text blurr up and you cant ctrl alt del or anything. The only way is to press the restart button or turn it completely off and back on, which loses some information and some of my web pages dissapeer from the address bar...
ITw@annbee02 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 05:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Download a program called "Everest: Home Edition." Its going to tell you the name of your motherboard, and will maybe be able to tell you the temperatures of the Processor/Motherboard/Power Supply. Take a picture of what you see on there, especially what kind of hardware you have, and post it here.
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 07:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Alright, that program is pretty cool and it actually listed the motherboard company and model number...heres a pic:

ITw@annbee02 is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 07:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Does anybody have an idea of what the problem could be?
ITw@annbee02 is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 07:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Alright, so it is the motherboard thats causing the problem or what? Would downloading the latest bios help?
ITw@annbee02 is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 03:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Default



Doesn't anybody have an answer for me?
ITw@annbee02 is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 03:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

find out what chipset the board is running off of, update the drivers for that to latest, If that doesn't work Check your memory.. Most of my experiences with random crashes were either memory.. or a hard drive going on the blink.

also try disabling ALL non-essential startup stuff in MSCONFIG , Antivirus, firewall anything else,and just play musicor game (unplug the comp from the net while doing this)


I knwo this seems strange.. but generally it's good to test all possibilities before jumping out and spending a ton on new parts.
__________________

kiyotaka is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.