Computer freezes randomly.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2006, 01:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Default Computer freezes randomly....

I recently built a shuttle XPC and it randomly freezes at various times. I have a sn21g5 barebone model with athlon 4400 dual core. The computer doesnt give blue screen or nothing and just freezes up on the last display it was at, whether its playing games or on desktop. If screen goes off because of screen saver it doesnt respond to any commands.

The psu for the barebone was too crappy to run a 7800gt so I have a psu sitting outside the box supplying power. I dont think video card is a problem cause i had the system run on barebones integrated 6600(?) before my friend gave me his 7800gt to me and it was still freezing. I believe it also isnt the psu cause on both psus it was causing the same problem.

When i checked the bios cpu ran around at 40c at idle and im wondering if thats the reason. im not really sure what the temperature is when the system freezes. I have the case opened up right now with extra fan running next to the system to give it an extra cool. Im also trying to update the bios just in case but im unsure as to how to make a boot cd with the bin file the shuttle provided.

Yoshi21 is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 10:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

40 degrees is a relatively high idle temp (my processor overclocked hits about 40 max at the moment) but i don't think it's high enough to be an overheating issue but you never know. i'll say it's overheating because if it isn't you're probably going to have to start blaming random components as failing

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-23-2006, 02:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9

well apparently putting a reg ol' household fan blowing air by the case completely fixed the problem. And i realized its a hard drive problem not a CPU.... When I pulled out the lil' bracket that holds the floppy,dvd-rom and hd, i noticed it was hot. So i tried to cool only those components using the fan and the problem simply vanished. can hard drives overheat and cause problems? I also realized the problem only occured after I installed dataguard software from Western Digital. So maybe its software related but apparently fan solved it.... Im gonna have to check this program out and see if there is some kind of safety thing for HD temp(?)......
Yoshi21 is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 11:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 101

yes of course hd's can overheat, they will show symptoms of slow retrievel time of info and of course freezing when it gets bad..., when heated like that it shortens the lifespan of the hd and can result in data loss too.....keeping just a regular house fan on it for long periods isnt good for it...all the dust and stuff that will get blowin into ur system will eventually clog the fans already in there and can possibly dmg the hard drive even more in the event a spec of dust get in the hd
-E6300 Intel Core Duo 1.86GHz
-ASUS P5NSLI Motherboard
-OCZ PC6400 800MHz 4x1GB Platinum series
-XFX 8800GTX
-OCZ Gamer Xtream 700W PSU
-2x160GB WD HD in RAID 0
-Antec Nine Hundred case
icantflybfplane is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 11:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9

ok, well fan is not working so well anymore.

I keep my computer pretty well clean. I use compressed air to keep computer free of dirt. I also seldomly take the fan out blow all the dirt accumulated there too.

anyways, if ur hd IS going bad becaus ei think it is the case. hd is more than yr old, ive been using it on my previous pc, and i keep my pc on at all times. Now then, what should i do? is there any steps i can take to maintain/recovery a failing hd?
Yoshi21 is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 02:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9

ok, its not the hd.....

it must be either the cpu or the ram. I tested the HD thoroughly and it is actually fine. CPU on the other hand i got a couple of times an error message saying that cpu freq needs to be readjusted ( i didnt overclock though) and it defaulted to fail safe mode. RAM i never really tested but apparently my friend said he had a similar problem with ram being incompatible with his mobo or something.

any ideas? yall input is appreciated. Im gonna try to figure this out.

Yoshi21 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.