Computer freezes at "Intel Pentium 4" screen. Please help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2006, 02:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8
Default Computer freezes at "Intel Pentium 4" screen. Please help!

Hi there, I took a hard drive outta my Pentium 3 computer and put it in my Pentium 4 computer. When I try to boot the Pentium 4 up though, it freezes at the first screen that shows - the "Intel Pentium 4" screen.

My friend tells me that you can't expect a Pentium 3 hard drive to boot after you stick it in a Pentium 4 computer, but he says it should at least get to another screen and tell you that that OS doesn't load. Because of this, he doesn't think that it's a problem with the hard drive.

Can anyone please help me? Thanks.
__________________

MechRocket is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 05:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 207
Default

I agree with your friend. It might not be detecting the drive at all. Check the jumper settings.
__________________

poorman is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 07:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

did you try going into the bios to fix the problem?
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 08:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8
Default

The thing is that I can't even press F8 to go into the BIOS. It just freezes at the screen before it.
MechRocket is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 09:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Put the HDD back into the P3 machine, and delete all partitions through DOS. Then, put the HDD back into the P4 and install your OS.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 10:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

hmmmno idea,, probably a problem with compatibility
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.