Computer Freezes - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2006, 12:12 AM   #31 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Whatever game your playing try the directX drivers from the game disk and see if it helps.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 04:16 PM   #32 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 181
Send a message via AIM to andy345
Default

In the video settings it has D3D, Software, and OpenGl. I have been using openGL. ill try it on D3D.

EDIT:
It still froze after about 25-30 minutes of playing with video on D3D.

I saw this topic and in it it has this website so i followed it and did some of the things on it that have to do with my problems. So ill try playing again.
__________________

andy345 is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 06:15 PM   #33 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 181
Send a message via AIM to andy345
Default

After I edited that post last night i played the game and it didnt freeze.

But today i was playing and it ended up freezing again. So i still need help.

I have a question now though. Could i mess up my hardrives because im shutting my computer off by holding the power button down when it freezes?

Also do you think it coulc be my motherboard like i asked before?
andy345 is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 06:30 PM   #34 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by andy345

I have a question now though. Could i mess up my hardrives because im shutting my computer off by holding the power button down when it freezes?
shouldn't be a problem if you're using NTFS but it could cause corruption on FAT32

did you do the things I suggested with your drivers? and how old is the kerio you're running, is it a sunbelt version?
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 07:47 PM   #35 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 181
Send a message via AIM to andy345
Default

My drives are NTFS.
Yes i did try completely uninstalling all drivers and reinstalling.
And kerio is 4.2.2 or something like that and i got it off kerio.com
__________________

andy345 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.