computer freezes - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2005, 12:12 AM   #21 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

What Video card do yoo have again?
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 12:51 AM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 181
Send a message via AIM to andy345
Default

Nvidia GeForce FX 5700LE
__________________

andy345 is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 01:09 AM   #23 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Thats not a very good car5d it could be that the card simply cannot handle the games you play.

what games do you play?


Also what is the cooling set up of your computer.


Tell me everything

Case
Power supply

all parts, how many fans?
Ste is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 01:29 AM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 181
Send a message via AIM to andy345
Default

The case is this
I have 2 512 MB sticks of ram that are PC3200
A P4 3 GHz 800FSB w/ hyperthreading processor
Nvidia GeForce FX 5700LE graphics card
I have a hd fan, 2 80mm fans bringing in air in the front, a 120mm fan taking air out in the back, and 2 pci exhaust blowers
A 450W PSU that is here
this mobo
2 80 GB western digital hd's
a dvd r/w and a cd r/w

The game i have been playing recently is gunz online
andy345 is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 01:35 AM   #25 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Well, Ive never heard of that motherboard or that Power supply...

What was the result when you ran memtest?
Ste is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 01:41 AM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 181
Send a message via AIM to andy345
Default

passes, no errors
andy345 is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 01:44 AM   #27 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Bear with me, but the more questions I ask the more I can help.

How long is the computer normally on before these freezes?

Have you any Anti Virus or Anti Spyware Programs

How many running Processes do you have, Ctrl + Alt + Delete, click processes tab, look lower left hand corner.

Where is you computer stationed, on a carpeted floor or on a desk?
Ste is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 01:49 AM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 181
Send a message via AIM to andy345
Default

I have 35 proccesses running.
I have Norton antivirus 2005.
Its on different amounts of time but usually im doing something like playign a game or watching a video or just doing a lot of stuff(like have aim open, firefox with a lot of tabs, downloading stuff and so on).
The computers sitting right next to me on top of the desk.
andy345 is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 01:52 AM   #29 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Well it sounds like the Video card is to blame. But Im not sure yet.

This is what i want you to do, would you feel comfortable if I asked you to open you case with the computer being OFF! and taking out the video card to inspect it?
Ste is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 01:57 AM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 181
Send a message via AIM to andy345
Default

Yeah i kno what im doing when it comes to computers.
I built this computer myself.
I was in my computer today making sure all the connections were tight.
Its just that i have no idea what this freezing is.
I kind of thought it was the ram/ a bad psu/ or the graphics card was overheating or something.
What exactly do you want me to do?

Also you dont have to tell me to turn the comp off before i go in it and explain things like how to see how many proccesses are running
__________________

andy345 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.