Computer Freeze - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2007, 03:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Default Computer Freeze

Whenever I'm playing a game such as Dawn of War or Company of Heroes my computer freezes about 10 - 30 minutes into playing. It freezes and keyboard controls don't work, have to manually restart. When it freezes it usually lets out a high pitched static sound. I have no problem running any day to do programs just these games. I don't know what the problem is or what I can do.

P5N32-SLI-SE-Deluxe
NVIDIA GeForce 7950 GX2
Creative SB0350 Audigy 2 ZS Sound Card
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU X6800
Corsair CM2X1024-6400C4 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM
__________________

Zaljin is offline  
Old 05-02-2007, 04:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: Computer Freeze

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaljin View Post
Whenever I'm playing a game such as Dawn of War or Company of Heroes my computer freezes about 10 - 30 minutes into playing. It freezes and keyboard controls don't work, have to manually restart. When it freezes it usually lets out a high pitched static sound. I have no problem running any day to do programs just these games. I don't know what the problem is or what I can do.

P5N32-SLI-SE-Deluxe
NVIDIA GeForce 7950 GX2
Creative SB0350 Audigy 2 ZS Sound Card
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU X6800
Corsair CM2X1024-6400C4 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM
I would lay odds on one of two things....

1.) Your system is over heating (d/l speedfan and post the temps)
2.) Something is not compatable with the games (sound card maybe?)

Post those temps when you get a chance
__________________

jeremy4719 is offline  
Old 05-02-2007, 04:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: Computer Freeze

Gpu1: 54c
Gpu2: 69c
Cpu: 34c

I can only check the cpu in bios, I downloaded everest home edition but cpu temp doesn't show up.

I have a PCI slot fan pointed directly at my graphics card.
Zaljin is offline  
Old 05-02-2007, 07:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: Computer Freeze

1.) You said GPU1 GPU2 (do you have to graphics cards?)

2.) Are those temps idle or under load with games?

3.) the PCI slot fans don't do much at all... Trust me on this one..

Sooooo.... If those are IDLE temps, you found your problem most likely.... I would take out the card, remove the heatsink/fan piece from it and then install an aftermarket heatsink/fan for card (use artic silver 5 thermal paste).... Make sure you remove the old paste with soft paper towel before applying new paste... Check out the Accelero X2 (if it fits your card)... I just bought one and it really knocked my GPU heat on my card down over 10+ Celcius.

Get back to me...
jeremy4719 is offline  
Old 05-02-2007, 07:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: Computer Freeze

One more heat related thought:

1.) Do you have decent to good case AIR FLOW? Meaning... Do you have at least one intake fan and a few out take fans?

Other non-heat related possibilities:

1.) Dust... Get some compressed air and spray it out (including power supply)...

2.) Does your graphics card require a lot of power?? Is your power supply strong enough to support it during gaming?
jeremy4719 is offline  
Old 05-02-2007, 11:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: Computer Freeze

Its a dual core graphics card

Those temps are at idle

I'm not exactly sure how much power it needs to run. But I have a 600 watt power supply

Is it difficult to replace the cards heatsink and fan?
Zaljin is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 11:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Computer Freeze

600w should be enough
Nick is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 04:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
steveasorus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 74
Default Re: Computer Freeze

try a diff game besides the 2 you mentioned, see if you get the same prob
__________________

__________________
MSI 945P Neo3
Intel Core2duo E6400 @ 2.6Ghz - :(
Corshair XMS 4x512(2gigs)
eVga 8600GT
Aspire Cooling Case
250gig SEAGATE
DVD+CD ROM/BURNER
Antec 550W PSU
Windows XP
steveasorus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Some upgrading / building new computer and counseling needed akasixcon New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-21-2007 10:26 PM
Computer Freeze Darkwanderer Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-11-2007 08:18 PM
New Computer. Same Issues Duality Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-01-2007 10:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.