Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2012, 08:37 PM   #21 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,513
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

What's the error message that comes up saying they fail?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-30-2012, 08:51 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Mattmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 251
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

Well if i try to reinstall the drivers individually, hardware was not installed because the wizard cannot find the necessary software, and thats for all the drivers. If I just open the file it says Windows cannot open this file, and it does the whole Use web service to find the appropriate program or Select the program from a list, and obviously I cannot use a web service. I have no idea
__________________

Mattmatt is offline  
Old 05-30-2012, 08:54 PM   #23 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,513
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

You're downloading the EXE files on the driver website, right?

Just download the file, and double click it. It should extract to a folder, and then run the setup.exe file in the folder it extracts to, if it doesn't do so automatically.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-30-2012, 08:55 PM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Mattmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 251
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

I downloaded the Download all selected, so it ended up as one folder, is that bad?
Mattmatt is offline  
Old 05-30-2012, 08:58 PM   #25 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,513
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

Depends on what file type they downloaded as...

Just do it the way I instructed. It will be easier for you to work with.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-30-2012, 09:01 PM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Mattmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 251
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

Right now I am on a mac, I downloaded the individual drivers, and I cant add it to my disk.
Mattmatt is offline  
Old 05-30-2012, 09:07 PM   #27 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,513
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

You should be able to copy the downloaded EXE files to a flash drive no matter what OS you're on.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-30-2012, 09:13 PM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Mattmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 251
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

Computer is restarting, moment of truth
Mattmatt is offline  
Old 05-30-2012, 09:14 PM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Mattmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 251
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

YESH okay, the only two that are ? are O2 Micro CCID SC Reader
SM Bus Controller
Mattmatt is offline  
Old 05-30-2012, 09:15 PM   #30 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,513
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

Ok, easy way to get those. Go back to device manager > right click those ones that are problem devices > go to Properties > Details tab > in the dropdown, select Hardware ID > post the strings located there.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
two computers, one bad HDD one good HDD can I swap? kaotikvizion System Upgrades 2 12-29-2009 01:32 AM
Bought new-ish computer that isnt running properly. ibetheelmo System Upgrades 10 09-19-2009 11:37 AM
Bad Computer, Bad Jethro69 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 17 05-15-2007 11:36 PM
Can a bad outlet or bad surge protector cause a bad CPU? kidedward Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-22-2006 12:41 PM
Help! Built Computers Will Power Up But Not Post klop Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 01-01-2006 03:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.