Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2012, 07:08 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Mattmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 251
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

Okay, when I said bad with computers, I AM AWFUL!!! I found the chipset, but there are so many Networking things, but none are ethernet can't find VGA, can't find wireless. You pretty much have to tell me what I have to download exactly, otherwise the incompetent person (me) won't be able to do it. Also that page will not load for me..
__________________

Mattmatt is offline  
Old 05-30-2012, 07:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Mattmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 251
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

So I should download all 16 onto a blank CD, and then put it in my computer. Then will it automatically install?
__________________

Mattmatt is offline  
Old 05-30-2012, 07:20 PM   #13 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
My link above went directly to the right drivers. They're all there. Might be called a bit different.
Your link goes to the Dell main drivers screen to pick a model or service tag. With the service tag, we can get the exact drivers that he needs from the hardware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattmatt View Post
Okay, when I said bad with computers, I AM AWFUL!!! I found the chipset, but there are so many Networking things, but none are ethernet can't find VGA, can't find wireless. You pretty much have to tell me what I have to download exactly, otherwise the incompetent person (me) won't be able to do it. Also that page will not load for me..
Post your Service Tag code, please, and we can help you more.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-30-2012, 07:43 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Mattmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 251
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

7LR5QB1
Mattmatt is offline  
Old 05-30-2012, 07:52 PM   #15 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

XP or Vista?

If Vista, do you have 32bit or 64bit installed?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-30-2012, 07:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Mattmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 251
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

XP
Mattmatt is offline  
Old 05-30-2012, 07:56 PM   #17 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

Get the following drivers for now:

Audio: Sigmatel-Driver
COmmunications: Conexant-Driver
Network: Broadcom-Driver
Video: Intel-Driver

After you have installed all of them, let us know what devices are left under Device Manager that are not working (yellow question mark or exclamation mark). We can go from there then.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-30-2012, 08:23 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Mattmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 251
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

I cant download the things...
Mattmatt is offline  
Old 05-30-2012, 08:24 PM   #19 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

Click the Download button next to each of the drivers, select "Download via browser" and then click the Download Now button.

Download them on the computer you're currently on, and then copy them to a flash drive, and copy them to the other computer, and install them.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-30-2012, 08:31 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Mattmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 251
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

I used a CD, and I cannot install the drivers, I tried to reinstall every one, but it failed every time
__________________

Mattmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
two computers, one bad HDD one good HDD can I swap? kaotikvizion System Upgrades 2 12-29-2009 01:32 AM
Bought new-ish computer that isnt running properly. ibetheelmo System Upgrades 10 09-19-2009 11:37 AM
Bad Computer, Bad Jethro69 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 17 05-15-2007 11:36 PM
Can a bad outlet or bad surge protector cause a bad CPU? kidedward Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-22-2006 12:41 PM
Help! Built Computers Will Power Up But Not Post klop Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 01-01-2006 03:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.