Computer fails post, 'DRAM or M/B'...? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2006, 12:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 124
Default Computer fails post, 'DRAM or M/B'...?

My computer keeps failing post. I cheched the beep codes and I believe it is the 'DRAM or M/B' error. It has given the beeps that signal this error before but they were non-fatal. Now the beeps are different but apparently its the same error.
So what does the error mean? I've tried removing the video card and ram but it didn't help. Is this something wrong with the motherboard? Am I going to have to replace it?
Unfortunately I have an exam in 2 days and could really use the computer.

706 is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 06:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 87

you've tried removing the video card and ram ? removing the ram wont tell you if it's the ram or not because it wont boot without it.

try testing with other ram if you can get your hands on any...

CPU: Intel Q6600 Quad @ 2.4 Ghz per core
Motherboard: ASUS P5B-Deluxe wifi
Hardrives: IDE MAXTOR 80 Gb (Windows)
2x SATA MAXTOR 320 Gbs in raid
Video Card: Nvidia 8800GTS (revised 512mb)
RAM: 6 Gb 667 kingston dual channel
Monitor: ASUS VW192T
Mouse: Microsoft Habu
Power Supply: Topower 1000W
OS: Windows XP x64 edition (to support all ma ram :D)
pat2k5 is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 07:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 124

I thought a computer can still past POST without ram? The only other RAM I have at the moment is SD so I'd have to go out and get some. Hopefully I can get a 'professional' in to check it out, though so far I've only had some moron who told me he'd ask for $150 an hour and if its the motherboard he'd have to take it away for a week to order special parts.
706 is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 09:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K

$150 buck on hour lol , if i were in ur shoes i'd show my middle finger in his face and tell him to go **** a donkey.

if u hav any friends or relatives stick ur RAM into their system and run a memtest :

ur gonna hav to create a boot disk or floppy to run the memtest on system boot

its better to know if its really ur RAM thats failing on u then buying the RAM first
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 04:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
MrCoffee's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858

assuming you have more than 1 stick of ram try just running with one of those sticks, if the problem persists swap the sticks.
its unlikley that both sticks would be bad unless you've cooked them off with overclocking?

Remove all connections and cards from you mobo bar 1 stick of ram, the power connections and you GFX card.

might be worth taking the mobo out of the case to eliminate shorts on the case, that is sometimes a problem if the computer was put together be someone inexperianced.
Intel core I7 920
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 08:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 124

I'll try the RAM sticks one at a time, if it still fails I might try them in a mate's computer anyway to see if they've fried. I don't overclock anything but my computer does overheat a fair bit.
Though it looks like my parents would rather just send it off to get repaired, I would have liked to try and find the problem myself, but I'm not the one paying for the repairs.
706 is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 09:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 124

Well i've tried both sticks individually, they both have the same affect. It starts up, gives one long beep then a moment later, 1 short, which is the code for the DRAM or M/B error. It then sounds like it tries to start itself up again, it does a single beep, slows down then tries to start up again, does a single beep... etc.

I imagine this is the computer repeatedly attempting POST. At one point I did manage to get a display that said OC failure, enter setup to 'something' OC; I cant remember it exactly. Before I could enter setup it died again.
So what's OC?

706 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.