Computer Error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2009, 04:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default Computer Error

Every time I boot my computer (starting last night with 2 crashes) my screen has wierd colors striping vertically. Once the dell startup loads my computer just automatically shuts down. Here's a video I took to show what it looks like:


If you have any clue what my problem could be or how I could fix it please let me know.
__________________

c50fritz is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 05:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Computer Error

Video card getting frazzled maybe. What are your specs (hardware and software including OS) ?
__________________

oldskool is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 05:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Computer Error

I'm not completely sure off the top of my head. I have something like a 6200 Geforce card, I run on windows XP. I have like 2.5 gigs of ram. Sorry i'm really just not good with computers. Do I need to buy a new video card or what?
c50fritz is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 05:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Computer Error

Can't say yet, but do you have access to another video card ? It's going to be a "PCI" type card. Older ones are AGP and so you don't need to try one of those. You can tell the difference by the slots. They are relationally spaced differently so you would notice if you are trying to put an old AGP into a PCI slot.
oldskool is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 05:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
swibit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 111
Default Re: Computer Error

if its quite a new PC.. see if it still comes under gurantee. If not, see how old your PC is and either buy the new videocard or perhaps invest in a new PC if its old..
swibit is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 05:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Computer Error

Yes I have a second desktop I'll go try that. I'll post back after.
c50fritz is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 05:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Computer Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by swibit View Post
It was weird but I had a problem not so severe as this, but that was to do with drivers.. as soon as I went on manufacturers website and downloaded the recommended drivers which I already had to begin with and reinstalled them.. every was good as new, no problems with video card since. Probably not like mine though.. probably hardware related but if your PC is shutting down straight away and your not good with computers.. if its quite a new PC.. see if it still comes under gurantee. If not, see how old your PC is and either buy the new videocard or perhaps invest in a new PC if its old..
Yeah, you could also try looking for updated drivers, but if you were doing fine and then the problem cropped up, I'm thinking the card is just worn out a bit.
oldskool is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 06:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: Computer Error

the video card could be a prime culprit, as oldskool said it could just be out of steam (can't expect much from a retail produced solution)
straight up I'm suspect to that as a complete HDD failure, unless those vertical lines I saw in the video are consistent as soon as you hit the power button, because the del% logo is pre written into that motherboard's CMOS start up process it would then screw up as either A) the vid card squawks B) the HDD fails to load or maybe even C) the ram won't load the OS (that what windows is doing when you see the initial loading bar)
__________________

chesirecat1701 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
DBD::mysql Perl module install CrazeD Linux and Open Source 4 02-28-2009 05:37 PM
Win98SE: Catastrophic & complete computer failure yesterday :-(( SP7 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-05-2008 01:30 PM
Very strange computer issues. No one knows the answers. Aiyana Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 03-29-2008 07:00 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.