Computer is effed up the a. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2007, 05:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Computer is effed up the a.

ok, so got my comp finally, and the wire work was a joke, so i go and fix it, and put in 3 more HD's, all on slave, put in a IDE PCI card to hook up my 3 cd drives, and thats it. Go to start up, all the fan's light up, cathode lights up, cpu fan goes, hd's buzz do thier startup thing, and the monitor gives me the "No Signal." I've gotten this before, so i try a new monitor, same thing, new gfx card with both monitors, same thing, onboard gfx with both monitors, same thing. I thought that it was too much power going to different things, so i unplugged everything except the 20 pin and 4 pin connectors, put in the master hd and started it up, nothing. Reset the CMOS nothing. Took the master drive put it in a different computer, it ran off it. Tried a fail save HD w/ windows on it, nothing. So WTF IS HAPPENING!!! I just RMA'd the mobo and got it back... i'm thinking its the mobo, and i sincerly hope its not, but if it is then no biggie.

also i put in a new mobo, older kind, that worked before i connected all the other stuff, and it gave me 2 beeps. and the screen still didn't show, but if its a POST test thingy then 2 beeps are a parity circuit failure. So can someone explain that to me ?
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 06:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 24
Default Re: Computer is effed up the a.

Are you positive they're two working, fully functional and supported monitors?
__________________

southfield is offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 06:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Computer is effed up the a.

yea, im thinking its the mobo, i've had trouble with it before and rma'd it the first time i got it.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 12:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Computer is effed up the a.

Alright, what you should try to do is see if your RAM will post in another computer. See if a buddy or family member that has a working computer, run Memtest86 on that RAM. Motherboard, you did try your GPU on another computer? Double checked all wires when you plugged them back in?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 09:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Computer is effed up the a.

RAM and GPU both start up fine on a different computer, so do HDD's. Also a different Mobo/CPU combo didn't work that worked on a different computer, so could it possibly be the PSU, and the mobo/cpu combo that doesn't work got shorted out by the PSU?
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 03:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 175
Default Re: Computer is effed up the a.

Must be the case. ;P
__________________
http://fc03.deviantart.com/fs19/f/2007/227/1/9/HPH_sig__v_Corrupt__MC_FT_by_HawtPawkitHero.png
krazy_taco is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 06:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Computer is effed up the a.

i think its the psu and it just fried the mobo... Could someone verify that this could happen?
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 12:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: Computer is effed up the a.

does your motherboard/bios version even support the e4400?
__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 02:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Computer is effed up the a.

Quote:
Originally Posted by decibaL View Post
does your motherboard/bios version even support the e4400?
Looks to me, like it does.

Gigabyte Intel 865G
FSB 800/533MHz

Intel Core 2 Duo - E4400
FSB 800MHz

If you're thinking it's a fried motherboard, you can get another one from Fry's Electronics or something and if it works then it must be the motherboard.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Cant seem to fix this dang computer morrty Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-11-2007 11:09 PM
computer freezes/beeps forever cullensmi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-12-2007 12:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.