Computer doesn't fully post. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2006, 03:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default Computer doesn't fully post.

Ok here are my specs to begin with:
skt 478 P4 2.8ghz
MSI Pm8m-v Motherboard
2x 512 sticks of kingston value ram pc3200
thermaltake soprano
430w thermaltake power supply
55gb western digital hd
120gb maxtor hd
sony cd/dvd reader

Ok I had taken the heat spreader off and everything has been fine since then. I had noticed today that the heatsink and cpu connection was loose (Like the contact) and wanted to try to bend the clips to make it tighter. My dad came up with the idea of just pulling on the clip moounts at the top to make it tighter and while leaving the heatsink on the the cpu he pushed and pulled to try and see if his idea would work. I finally came up with the idea of lets just put the heat spreader back on. So I just put some of my thermal paste on and it fit snug and put it back in. Now when it goes to boot it goes black at first a little longer then it would and then goes to post, right after it finds the cpu and ram speed it goes black and thats it. Usually when I turn the psu switch on the computer goes on. What could be wrong? When my dad was trying to make the heatsink tighter did he mess it up or did me putting on the heat spreader kill it as well?

EDIT- I did put thermal paste between the heat spreader and the cpu core. I did not touch the core with my hands the whole time we did this put did apply maybe a great deal of force to it while my dad tried his idea.
__________________

Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 04:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
STATus h2O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fayetteville, North Carolina
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to STATus h2O
Default

Try reseating your processor, remove and re-apply the thermal paste. Putting a great deal of force on your socket and processor isn't a very good idea, man.
__________________

__________________
<P><a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/1236/e6600vm1.jpg" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/4116/88002cw3.jpg" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/9990/uprstrancefan2gi8.gif" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/2838/winamp2cu9.png" border="0"></a>

<I>IM me on AIM @</I> <B>STATus H2o</B>
STATus h2O is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 04:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Well it turns out when I take off the heat spreader it works fine now. Shorting out maybe but its all good now.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.