Computer Died? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2006, 03:27 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 15
Default

okay thanks. i was thinking of running to best buy today to grab one, versus using newegg cuz i pretty much need it by tonight. If I buy it online and it turns out its not my power supply (which I highly doubt, but there's always a chance), its going to really put me behind in my work. Is best buy an okay bet or not?
__________________

secretsexyninja is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 03:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

no thats perfectly fine just find a decent one in your price range mabey even higher wattage
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 03:33 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 15
Default

okay sweet.. so when looking for a powersupply, they should all be pretty compliant, if i understand correctly.. and i will be looking for 500+ watts
secretsexyninja is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 03:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

yup just make sure it fits your case which as you stated is an ATX12v so just look for those and be sure it has the p4 connector if you have a graphics card that uses an extra power cord.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 03:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 15
Default

okay awesome, thanks a lot
secretsexyninja is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 03:46 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

no problem
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 04:49 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 15
Default

awesome, i replaced the power supply with an upgraded 500w PSU (dunno what difference that will make on my machine) and everything is working fine. I really appreciate you guys help. One last thing... is there a way to help prolong the life of power supplies? (temp, dust etc) or do they just die on their own?
secretsexyninja is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 05:08 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

lol they just die lol really nothing you can do but thats a decent power supply if you ever decide to upgrade a graphics card or w/e. good luck.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 06:40 PM   #19 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

glad your up and running. Not much to really do to prolong the life of a psu, maybe the biggest thing is to run a quality surge protector, other then that, never plug in your pc.
Sui is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 09:51 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 88
Default

A good surge supressor and when you're not using your PC unpug it. Capacitors have a live expectancy based on hours some are 10,000 hrs 15,000 hrs or more but you never now that before or after buying it. Tha's what some call marketing strategy less live expectancy sooner you'll buy a new one.
__________________

PR Gamer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.