Computer Cuts out when i press the power up button! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2006, 06:41 PM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RicoDirenzo
The input wirings to the front side won't fry the board. They are techically only jumpers. (reset, power swtich, hd led and power led). You can't put the 20/24 atx connector or 4 pin connectors in incorrectly unless you used a hammer!! Do what I suggested ablove and let us know what you find.
oh really!!!well cuz i'ved always thought that if you put the power wirings to the wrong pins (like to the reset), you're giving power to the wrong pins and thought that, that would short out the mobo.

oh i was just talkin about the wirings of the case to the mobo not the atx connectors.
__________________

__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 08:18 PM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mike4realz
oh really!!!well cuz i'ved always thought that if you put the power wirings to the wrong pins (like to the reset), you're giving power to the wrong pins and thought that, that would short out the mobo.

oh i was just talkin about the wirings of the case to the mobo not the atx connectors.
The front side connectors are not powered. So I'm confused????? What powered connector could you put on the reset or mobo power jumper pins?
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 08:34 PM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RicoDirenzo
The front side connectors are not powered. So I'm confused????? What powered connector could you put on the reset or mobo power jumper pins?
lol...i'm talkin about the power and reset buttons of the case that you connect to the motherboard. like when u plug-in the power to the reset pins or other pins. and when u press the power button, you're sending the power signal to the wrong pins to turn on your computer. you get what i'm saying?
__________________

__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.