Computer Crashes... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2006, 09:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to tommy8748
Default Computer Crashes...

Sometimes when I play Counter-strike:Source my computer locks up and the sound begins to loop. Sometimes my computer will blur up the game's graphics and pop up with a VGA error, other times it just freezes and I have to force restart. This happens once a day and it's driving me crazy. Here are the temps I get when I check them:

CPU: 35C
HD1: 35C
HD2: 40C
Video Card while gaming: 55-60C
Video Card Idle: 39-43C

Here are my PC specs:

AMD Athlon 3700 @ 2.2Ghz
AsRock 939 Dual SATA-2
1Gb Corsair PC3200 Ram
40GB Hard Drive
300GB Hard Drive
ATI 9600XT Video Card
Logysis Clear 550W 20/24 ATX Serial ATA, PCI-X Power Supply

I am starting to think that my video card is overheating and causing this problem, I tried using Ati Tool's fan control option to speed up fans, but this problem still consists.

Thanks for helping.
__________________

__________________
Asrock 939 Dual-SATA2
AMD 3700+ @ 2.8GHz
1GB Corasair PC3200
ATI RADEON X1800GTO2
340GB HD
LOGYSIS 550W PSU
Antec Super Lanboy case
tommy8748 is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 10:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

try the gard in another system or another card in your system see if you have the same results that way we can rule out the hd and the CPU.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 12:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

sounds like the graphics card is overheating, and also like a driver prob. if possible downclock card, and update driver
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 07:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to tommy8748
Default

Drivers are up to date. I'm getting a x1800xt in a few weeks so that should work out.

As for the downclocking, by how much should I downclock?

I'm using ATI tool for the downclocking.

Here are my current settings:


As you can see I got the fan to move its *** a bit since it was going at 30% earlier.
__________________
Asrock 939 Dual-SATA2
AMD 3700+ @ 2.8GHz
1GB Corasair PC3200
ATI RADEON X1800GTO2
340GB HD
LOGYSIS 550W PSU
Antec Super Lanboy case
tommy8748 is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 07:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

I'd say its probably with Sound or Graphics drivers, if you've changed either before this started happening then roll back otherwise uninstall both and reinstall the previous versions (being "up to date" isn't a guarantee that you're using the best driver for your hardware).
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 07:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to tommy8748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MrCoffee
I'd say its probably with Sound or Graphics drivers, if you've changed either before this started happening then roll back otherwise uninstall both and reinstall the previous versions (being "up to date" isn't a guarantee that you're using the best driver for your hardware).
How would I rollback to older drivers? Does ATI have an archive of previous drivers?
__________________
Asrock 939 Dual-SATA2
AMD 3700+ @ 2.8GHz
1GB Corasair PC3200
ATI RADEON X1800GTO2
340GB HD
LOGYSIS 550W PSU
Antec Super Lanboy case
tommy8748 is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 03:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

go to device manager start > right click my computer > properties > hardware tab > device manager > display adapters > right click on your display adapter > properties > driver tab > roll back driver
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 08:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to tommy8748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jcortes
go to device manager start > right click my computer > properties > hardware tab > device manager > display adapters > right click on your display adapter > properties > driver tab > roll back driver
Tried it, but whenever I join a server the maps are all black and I can't see anything. Thanks anyways.

Now, I'm going to disable my sound card and enable onboard sound right now to see if that helps.
__________________
Asrock 939 Dual-SATA2
AMD 3700+ @ 2.8GHz
1GB Corasair PC3200
ATI RADEON X1800GTO2
340GB HD
LOGYSIS 550W PSU
Antec Super Lanboy case
tommy8748 is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 07:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

at this point I would remove both your graphics and sounds drivers and do a complete fresh install of them using drivers which you know have worked good in the past.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 07:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to tommy8748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MrCoffee
at this point I would remove both your graphics and sounds drivers and do a complete fresh install of them using drivers which you know have worked good in the past.
The thing is that the comp with the problem is a new build of mine and the drivers worked fine on my compaq...
__________________

__________________
Asrock 939 Dual-SATA2
AMD 3700+ @ 2.8GHz
1GB Corasair PC3200
ATI RADEON X1800GTO2
340GB HD
LOGYSIS 550W PSU
Antec Super Lanboy case
tommy8748 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.