Computer boot problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2006, 01:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default Computer boot problems

I am having a very strange problem. So I recently bought a USB 2.0 PCI expansion card for my computer and decided to install it tonight. When I went to turn my computer back on, it started to power on, but turned off after about 2 seconds and the power light blinked repeatedly until I unplugged the PC altogether for a minute or two. First I removed the USB card and tried to power on again with no luck and the same problem. So after trying a few more times, I decided to clean out the insides of the PC to get rid of some dust and such, still no luck. So then I took out my hard drive and put it in a spare PC as a slave drive, and the spare PC could see the hard drive and access the files on it.

So I took my main system and broke it down to bare bones - one chip of memory, keyboard, video card, and a spare hard drive I had laying around. PC booted fine like this. So I took my main hard drive out of the spare and swapped it back into the main PC as the only master drive, and it came back to the original problem - wouldn't boot. I unplugged the power from the drive, and the PC booted to the BIOS and POST was fine. Plug power back into the drive and wouldnt boot. Swapped IDE cables, put it on secondary, slave, cable select, none of which boots. As soon as my original hard drive is powered and connected, the PC wont boot.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

In the problem PC, I have
-LEAD POWER 550 Watt ATX power supply
-ASUS A7V133 motherboard
-NVIDIA Geforce 4 MX 4000 Vid Card
-1 stick 256 MB SDRAM (after other two sticks were removed)
-Athlon 1.2 Ghz processor
-Western Digital WD1200 120 GB hard drive 5400 rpm

Please help!
__________________

shaggy420 is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 07:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 92
Default

well clearly the problem is your original hard drive. i was building a system about a year ago and each time i put in the sata hdd it did not boot. so i tried all sorts of useless things until i replaced the hdd with another sata and it worked.

whether its sata or ide hard drives i think the answer is the same. what you could do is try the hard drive in another pc or by a friend and if you blow up that pc too (just kidding)... if you get the same problem then its definitely the hard drive needs to be replaced.
__________________

__________________
cdkiller [everything is to be replicate]
cdkiller is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 09:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

As cdkiller said put the original hd into a different system and boot it as a slave, if it boots download one of these diagnostic tools to try fixing the hd:

Western Digital Data Lifeguard 5.04f
Western Digital DLG for Windows 1.07.01
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 09:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

and if the hdd cant be salvaged, get a new one, maybe a se16 320gb one. hey, and just a note the newer mx4000's have some voltage regulating problems, so if you experience weird display problems, rma the card, but make sure that you have a fan cooler(or buy a new one) cause when i sent mine in, i bought it from walmart, and it had a fan, got it from 3dfuzion, and it had a giant hs(which gets extremely hot, cause the cards are natively oced)
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 11:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Yea one of the first things i did was put the HD in a spare PC as a slave drive and it worked fine, I could access my files and all.
shaggy420 is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 11:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Im going to try those diagnostics on the drive and see if anything turns up. I also tried switiching out the video card with a really old crappy one that shouldnt draw much power and it still wouldnt boot.
shaggy420 is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 12:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default

I think I may have found the problem...

I switched out my power supply with a 200W one and booted fine.

Thanks for all your help!
__________________

shaggy420 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.