For a computer with 2gb, It doesn't feel...2gb'y - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2006, 12:15 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 63
Default












All 5 tabs.


After further review, It feels like photoshop and media programs load up a bit faster. I'll give it a couple of days for a fair review though, then i'll compare performance with page filing on again
__________________

__________________
Joomla design
simonsayers is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 04:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to Tymetwister
Default

Yep, that tells the story... your board will only run memory at PC2100 speed, so your RAM is being downclocked.

Sorry to be the one to tell ya, bt in order for you to experience PC3200 speed, you'll need to upgrade the processor AND the board.

Sucks, I know... I'm in a similar boat... so I've just decided to buy an entirely new system.
__________________

Tymetwister is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 04:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

CTRL+ALT+DEL... How many programs does it say you have running (look at the bottom of the window, it will say Processes: ##)
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 02:14 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 63
Default

New mobo AND processor? ouch

Not only do I not know how to put all of the components on a mobo, processors burn a hole in my pocket


Could I get away with buying a cheap system with a good processor , and hopefully a supported mobo and slap in my AGP* GFX card and 2 sticks of ram and Everything should be alright
__________________
Joomla design
simonsayers is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 04:00 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to Tymetwister
Default

Yeah, you could try looking for a barebones system somewhere.
Tymetwister is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 05:06 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

You do not have to upgrade your cpu. Just the mainboard.
http://www.ciao.co.uk/Productinforma...5EPT2__5409841

supports only PC2100, as mentioned above. Buy another 478 mainboard that uses DDR400 in dual channel. For Example:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131527 Only $54 and your Northwood core 533fsb willwork in that board!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 10:24 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 63
Default

So if I bought one of them, My mobo would read my ram as 3200 then?
__________________
Joomla design
simonsayers is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 12:26 AM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Ignore some of the past posts, those people are just wrong.

NO the ram will not run at pc3200 speed even if you buy a different motherboard.
-------------------

1) dont disable paging files, just set them to "manual" min = 1024, max = 1024 ......some games will not even load up if you disable paging files, that doesnt mean its using them though, the system usess paging files for non-important background tasks, setting min/max to equal sizes will give you the best performance... and the average user will never need more or less then 1024mbs paging files.

2) when it comes to a system such as yours... 2.5 Northwood 533fsb, AGP 4x, mobo 266fsb.... loading times for your games will be affected by every part of your old system, the CPU speed, the FSB and the GFX card's power and AGP slot.

3) you can use your CPU in board that support pc3200 speed, but it will not run at that speed. your CPU will run at 133(ddr266) max, unless you overclock it.

lots of socket 478 boards (maybe even your own, check your BIOS), can run your Ram at a 2:3 ratio meaning.... CPU FSB = 133, Ram = 166 (DDR333 pc2700 speed).

4) If your using 2x1gb this doesnt apply to you.... but if your using 4x512mbs, then some old motherboards will auto downclock your RAM FSB.... your board might support 2:3 ram fsb ratio, But if your using 4 slots, that may be the reason its running it 1:1 133fsb.

5) since you were already running 1GB of ram, and your CPU fsb is 133 (533), then upgrading to 2GB's will not show you any performance improvement.... it will only allow you to open more programs/windows at one time, befor your Comp starts stuttering/lagging.... the speed of your computer depends on the Othercomponents + your FSB, not the amount of Ram to an extent(since you already had 1GB).

EDIT: there may be other performance loss's depending on the motherboard if your using 4x512 instead of 2x1GB... because greater # of ram banks the Memcontroller needs to access, the less stable it becomes... so if your using 4x512, it might actually be running at a lower command rate, or slower Timings then if you were running 2x512 or 2x1Gb. witch means if your using 4x dimms you might very well be getting slower performance then you were with your PC2100 ram. since your board auto clocked your ram at 2100 speed.

EDIT: this is a small reason why i never upgrage my systems, just buy all new parts after a few to several years, and things will just work as there sapost to.
jolancer is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 05:23 AM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 63
Default

Yeah I think i've hit the wall with my system

I'm gonna ride it out for a couple of years then just buy a new one
__________________

__________________
Joomla design
simonsayers is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.