Comp shuts down after 20-30 mins... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2005, 04:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Default Comp shuts down after 20-30 mins...

I have had this comp. for about a year now with no problems. Just today, it started turning off when I was browsing the web. I noticed a few other posts about comps shutting off at start-up, but mine does it after 20 or 30 mins. After it shuts down, I can not turn it back on by pressing the power button. I have to unplug the power supply and then plug it back in and then press the power button and it will turn on. The computer is a stock E-Machines t2240 that I use only for web browsing. Do you think I need a new PSU, or is it overheating or somehow shorting out?
__________________

Knuckle_Dragger is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 09:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

my aunts emacines has the same problem it was because they did not put a case fan in her computer so if you moved her comp in an enclosed space it would just shut of after 20 mins check that u have a similar model.
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 01:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 161
Default

sounds more like a virus to me. its pretty easy to write a virus that does that. done it myself. dont kick me off tech-forums cause i said that. i neva let it loose. only tried it on my machine for fun.

anyway back to ur problem, like i said it sounds like a virus to me. i once got a virus(worm) off the net that random waited a certain amount of time before it activated and gave me a message that windows was shutting down in 30sec. try running anti-virus software of some sort eg NORTAN ANTI-VIRUS 2005. though my anti-virus never picked up the virus that i got off the net.

could also be the cpu is getting to hot or some sort of hardware is causing your pc to shutdown.
__________________
INTEL Q6600 8MB CACHE 2.5GHZ
ASUS P4E32-E
6GB DDR2800 OCZ
NVIDIA 8800GTS 320MB
DEATH-INCARNATE is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 01:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 191
Send a message via AIM to PhillipBelcher Send a message via Yahoo to PhillipBelcher
Default

i would go against the virus scheme. You can make a virus shut the pc down. However, you cannot make it so you must unplug the power cord to turn the pc back on.

Have you made upgrades to the pc? (Ram, Pci Expansions?)

Sounds like the PSU isn't pushing out enough wattage. I would check the wattage output on the PSu and maybe consider replacing.
Emachines usually uses a 230w PSU, im pretty sure.
PhillipBelcher is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 04:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

I agree wiht Phil. Have you overclock the memory, cpu or video card.? I would monitor the temperature of all of those components. If they are not overheating, especially the cpu, the PSU, as Phil suggested, is high on the list. Try this...if you have a second puter or a friend who wants to help, switch out the psu and see what happens. Let us know what you find!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 05:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

SOUNDS LIKE HEAT! check ur temps
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 06:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RicoDirenzo
I agree wiht Phil. Have you overclock the memory, cpu or video card.? I would monitor the temperature of all of those components. If they are not overheating, especially the cpu, the PSU, as Phil suggested, is high on the list. Try this...if you have a second puter or a friend who wants to help, switch out the psu and see what happens. Let us know what you find!
its a emacines how can he o/c it?
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 09:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Yeah... I'm going to say, "It's a heat issue also."

The BIOS is probably set to auto shut down when the CPU hits a certain temp. The reason you need to unplug the power cord from the PC to restart, probably has something to do with removing the power completely from the motherboard, which always has power as long as it's plugged in. I bet that BIO's feature is reset when the MOBO loses it's charge and then is recharged. May-be???
HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 09:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Maybe theres no battery on the motherboard and the BIOS keeps its settings as long as the machine is plugged up......
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 10-08-2005, 10:02 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for all the replies! What I have done is install a system fan in the case, and I no longer have any probs.

What could make a puter start overheating all of a sudden tho?
__________________

Knuckle_Dragger is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.