comp runs, no video signal - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2008, 09:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
ninja troll
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Unhappy comp runs, no video signal

I built my computer a few days ago, and i was able to start it up, i installed vista, updated the os and all drivers. after the last of a dozen restarts, it went for about 4 seconds, restarted itself, and now the monitor isnt receiving a signal.

everything powers up, i used a backup video card and that doesnt work either.

any ideas whats wrong?

GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX All Solid Capacitor Intel Motherboard - Retail
ASUS EN9600GT/HTDI/512M GeForce 9600GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX 550W ATX12V V2.2 Power Supply - Retail
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor Model BX80562Q6600 - Retail
G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK - Retail
Seagate Barracuda ES.2 ST3250310NS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
COOLER MASTER RR-CCH-L9U1-GP 92mm Hyper TX2 CPU Cooler - Retail (N82E16835103031)


jasonalwaysready is offline  
Old 05-11-2008, 10:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Snake91839's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: comp runs, no video signal

Maybe it's the PCI-E bus. No real way to test, so I would RMA the Mobo and then see if it does it with the new one.

Snake91839 is offline  
Old 05-11-2008, 12:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: comp runs, no video signal

Does it have onboard Video to test it with? Also with the 2nd video card could have been a driver issue. Since they were not identical cards could have caused a driver conflict.
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-11-2008, 02:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
ninja troll
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: comp runs, no video signal

no onboard video. i cleared the cmos and that didnt help either...

im thinking its the mb, but its funny that it worked for a few hours, and then failed on me...
jasonalwaysready is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leaked RIAA Training Video Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 11 02-23-2008 09:55 AM
New Old School Video Card Badgerme New Systems | Building and Buying 4 02-21-2008 12:13 PM
Do you know what video format is this? Sevenor Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 01-29-2008 09:54 PM
Possible video card issue -- ATI X1650 houndofspace Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 12-04-2007 01:17 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.