comp freezes at idle - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2005, 05:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to TeLeMuNdO!
Default comp freezes at idle

Ever since I moved my computer to my college dorm room, it has been freezing randomly. I've updated the BIOS, messed with the power options, and even bought a new PSU. I've been searching the net, but none of the solutions fix my problem. It usually happens if i leave it alone for more than 15 minutes, cursor won't move, ctrl + alt + delete won't work. If anybody has any suggestions, please share.

AMD 64 3400+
Asus K8V SE Deluxe
ULTRA 600 watt PSU
2 74 gig WD raptors
ATI x850xt PE
1 gig (512 X 2) Corsair XMS RAM
Soundblaster Audigy 2 Platinum
__________________

TeLeMuNdO! is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

is the monitor on? and do you see stuff on the screen?
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to TeLeMuNdO!
Default

Monitor is on, screen looks exactly as it did before I left it, just froze up.
TeLeMuNdO! is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 06:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Peterborough, Ont.
Posts: 404
Default

I've seen some problems due to programs left running that result in memory leaks and the cpu getting worked at capacity, this can result in some very slow response times, if the cpu is at capacity, then it may freeze or work so slow you may believe it had.

In any case, windows task manager should respond, but in your case it doesn't you say.
yosa is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 01:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to TeLeMuNdO!
Default

Alright, apparently it's not just happening when idle, considering it just froze up on me while I was writing my reply. Don't think the CPU is getting overloaded or anything, it never happens when I play games or anything else. Also, after it just froze up, when it ran the disc-check it found a bunch of "invalid" temp internet files (something about the size).
TeLeMuNdO! is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 12:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

make sure all your hardware is seated ok, ram, video card.....and check your cpu temps.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 04:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to TeLeMuNdO!
Default

All hardware is connected, put new thermal compound on the CPU. CPU temp is usually cool, but can't check it after it's already froze. Still having this problem.
TeLeMuNdO! is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 04:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

It sounds like your having some kindof hardware or software conflict. Try booting your cpu into safe mode, let it run for a day running whatever applications you can, see if it still happens.

Also while not in safe mode, check all running applications, and close whatever's not necessary. Go through your processes thoroughly and research ones that you don't know at www.processlibrary.com

It's not an immediate solution, but troubleshooting your system this way should lead you in the right direction.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 05:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Here are some things you should do, they may or may not help your problem:

-Defrag hard drive
-Run a full virus scan, free virus= Avg
-Run spybot search and destroy for spyware
-Download and install hijack-this and run a scan/post results
-Disable screensaver if enabled
-Adjust start-up programs with Msconfig: Start/run, type "msconfig"/startup tab/ shut down any programs you dont need running on startup. All I have on mine is video card/battery pack and antivirus.
-Run a scan disk
-try safemode as Bass suggested, that will tell u if its software related

If you need links to anything above let me know. If you have any questions dont hesitate to ask.

Hope this helps. Cheers.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 09-09-2005, 01:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to TeLeMuNdO!
Default

Haven't had a crash since about 5 pm earlier today, but I doubt it's gone away. Next time it crashes, I will boot into safe mode and let ya'll know how it goes. Vaderpro - Tried most of those when I first started having the problem, except the safe mode suggestion. Thanks for all the help guys.
__________________

TeLeMuNdO! is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.