Comp Doesnt post reboots over and over - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2008, 10:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Guff1988 Send a message via Yahoo to Guff1988
Default Comp Doesnt post reboots over and over

I power it on and it runs for about 3-5 seconds w/o posting then turns off and does it again.

DFI LP LT P35 T2R
E8400
8800gt
Corsair 520hx
Corsair XMS

it gets no where cant even get far enough to give me an error number on the mobo built in display

What can i do
__________________

__________________
http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/5568/cky9qc.jpg
They say Evil Prevails when good men fail to act.
What they should say is "Evil Prevails."
Guff1988 is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 10:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Comp Doesnt post reboots over and over

Make sure the heatsink is secure. Did you plug in any CPU power?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 11:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Guff1988 Send a message via Yahoo to Guff1988
Default Re: Comp Doesnt post reboots over and over

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Make sure the heatsink is secure. Did you plug in any CPU power?
heatsink is very snug
all power cords are plugged in well.
__________________
http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/5568/cky9qc.jpg
They say Evil Prevails when good men fail to act.
What they should say is "Evil Prevails."
Guff1988 is offline  
Old 04-05-2008, 12:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Comp Doesnt post reboots over and over

Is the CPU Fan plugged in a SYS Fan connection on the motherboard? Happens sometimes and it's quick to check.

Try booting with just one stick of ram, try it in various slots. Maybe reseat CPU as well.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 04-05-2008, 10:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Guff1988 Send a message via Yahoo to Guff1988
Default Re: Comp Doesnt post reboots over and over

One of the Socket pins was broken off...RMA'd it and got an IP-35 PRO
__________________
http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/5568/cky9qc.jpg
They say Evil Prevails when good men fail to act.
What they should say is "Evil Prevails."
Guff1988 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.