Combining Partitions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2012, 01:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Combining Partitions

In disk management I deleted a partition in order to extend another partition using the one I deleted. I managed that successfully, obviously neither one was the boot drive. There is another partition I want to expand onto my boot drive. Is that not possible? It seems like I can expand on partitions with any old ordinary files on it, but not for the boot drive.

Help…
__________________

__________________
pro2a is offline  
Old 04-05-2012, 03:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Combining Partitions

If a partition is marked System, then you can not increase the size of that partition with windows.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-05-2012, 04:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Combining Partitions

GParted can do that easily.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-06-2012, 07:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: Combining Partitions

I'm assuming it won't have any adverse effects on my Win 7 boot drive?
__________________
pro2a is offline  
Old 04-06-2012, 07:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Combining Partitions

If your boot partition is working fine the way it is....why fix it?
Joe C is offline  
Old 04-06-2012, 08:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Combining Partitions

There is always a chance to loose data when re-sizing any partition, also, just to note, Partition Magic does not work with Dynamic Disks (learned this very recently). Though, I don't know anyone that has a use for Dynamic disks over basic.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-06-2012, 09:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Raccoon City
Posts: 123
Default

I had the ssame problem too. Disk management would never fox it. Partition wasn't marked as system. I loaded up the win7 disk and deleted that partition and it worked. Combined the partition with my system partition.
__________________

__________________
AMD FX 8350 | 8gigs DDR3 1333 G.skill sniper

IN WIN GRone Full Tower| GIGABYTE 970A-D3P MoBo

EVGA GTX 760 SC| CORSAIR TX Series 650w PSU|

COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO|

Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB 7200rpm HDD|

128GB Vertex4 SSD
cp0020 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Combining two PC's newtechie System Upgrades 5 10-05-2006 12:18 AM
Combining RAM BluePyro System Upgrades 1 06-10-2006 08:07 PM
Combining Power? 'Coon128 System Upgrades 0 11-16-2005 03:53 PM
Combining CPUs Flanker New Systems | Building and Buying 9 09-28-2005 12:32 AM
Combining Two CPUs sakya_trips Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 08-11-2005 09:08 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.