CMOS Reset now PC won't turn on. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2012, 08:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 85
Default CMOS Reset now PC won't turn on.

Hello, I reset my cmos for few seconds, then i unplugged the power supply cable as well. After resetting the cmos the whole computer seems not turning on, seems like there's no power at all as even the mouse and keyboard doesn't have any light. Kinda made me worry this isn't the first time i reset my computer cmos but never had this kind of problem.

4GB RAM
Asus MoBo p7p55d-e pro
PSU: 700w
__________________

corei5 is offline  
Old 05-10-2012, 09:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: CMOS Reset now PC won't turn on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by corei5 View Post
Hello, I reset my cmos for few seconds, then i unplugged the power supply cable as well. After resetting the cmos the whole computer seems not turning on, seems like there's no power at all as even the mouse and keyboard doesn't have any light. Kinda made me worry this isn't the first time i reset my computer cmos but never had this kind of problem.

4GB RAM
Asus MoBo p7p55d-e pro
PSU: 700w
Why did you need to reset the cmos, was there a configuration problem going on ?
You could try this, unplug the cd/dvd drive and hdd, temporarily.
Next use only a usb or PS2 keyboard, no usb components should not be connected at this time.

If you see that little jumper on cmos, put it reset, turn on the machine for about 10 seconds, and hit the power button for it to shutdown.
Once you notice the motherboard is not getting any more power move your ram into a another slot.

I recommend slot 2 if your using a intel system.
Finally put the jumper back on normally and see if it comes on.
If anything it should come back on and beep at you with a error message.
By the looks of it, you may have had a slight OC problem.
Intel LGA systems will do that by fully shutting down the system to try to reset everything at default.

Sometimes it does not help.. :P
__________________

-RockMan- is offline  
Old 05-10-2012, 09:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: CMOS Reset now PC won't turn on.

Did you plug the PSU back in? Try running with 1 stick of RAM.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-10-2012, 09:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 85
Default Re: CMOS Reset now PC won't turn on.

Well its running now, although now theres nothing showing on the screen when I turn on the computer. I am totally sure the GPU is running as the fan is still running and it was working just this morning.

Could be the memory? Asus mobo has this memo_ok i think and the light is on and its red?
corei5 is offline  
Old 05-10-2012, 10:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 85
Default Re: CMOS Reset now PC won't turn on.

Problem solved
corei5 is offline  
Old 05-10-2012, 11:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: CMOS Reset now PC won't turn on.

How did you solve it?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-10-2012, 11:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 85
Default Re: CMOS Reset now PC won't turn on.

Just kept on swapping memory slots really and realised one of the memory is not properly in. My own fault so yeah.
__________________

corei5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer Will not post, even after CMOS reset RalliArt882 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 02-15-2009 12:13 AM
Remove battery to reset CMOS??? HELP!!?!?!? dingledow Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 09-10-2007 04:27 AM
How to Reset Your CMOS SHAWN Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 28 04-01-2007 12:33 AM
How do I reset CMOS? Cajete Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-28-2007 04:42 PM
how do you reset the cmos? bryanf445 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 02-24-2005 08:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.