CMOS battery is not secure in its slot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2008, 05:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
Default CMOS battery is not secure in its slot

Good day folks, I am working on a clients PC and the CMOS configs will not function normally. I noticed the CMOS battery slot is not securing the battery; the battery moves within the space. I cannot think of anything practical to secure the battery, preventing CMOS errors (this is an older IBM security-minded desktop).

I was thinking of glue, but a CMOS battery life is three years or less and I am not sure if the battery can function with such a chemical.

If anyone can think of a practical way of securing the battery, please share. Thank you.

Chosenbkr is offline  
Old 06-22-2008, 06:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
Default Re: CMOS battery is not secure in its slot

Anyone know of a practical way or ways to hold the CMOS battery intact so it won't cause CMOS error messages?

Any valid practical way without trying to find a replacement for a Slot1 motherboard that, that client has?

Chosenbkr is offline  
Old 06-22-2008, 06:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
I can't brain today
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: CMOS battery is not secure in its slot

What about just sticky tape which touches the battery and is secured to the motherboard? That's what i would do
[t..o..m] is offline  
Old 06-22-2008, 07:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
NosBoost300's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: CMOS battery is not secure in its slot

electrical tape? lol
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 06-22-2008, 09:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: CMOS battery is not secure in its slot


Saly there is not easy fix for this. You would have to make a clip of some sort to have it hold it in place.

I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 02:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
carnageX's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 23,114
Default Re: CMOS battery is not secure in its slot

You could maybe (if you think you're up to it) remove the clip that's there right now, and get a new button battery clip. I know radioshack sells button battery holders (seen 'em since I work at one xD), so you could maybe pick one up from there, and solder it on there as a replacement to the one thats on there currently.

Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CMOS checksum failed... Do I have to change the battery? jairic Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-12-2008 06:39 PM
Cmos Battery Replacement schmicky2 System Upgrades 0 02-27-2008 12:24 AM
Remove battery to reset CMOS??? HELP!!?!?!? dingledow Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 09-10-2007 03:27 AM
Took out CMOS battery, now GFX Card won't boot! sergioswitz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 05-05-2007 05:20 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.