Cmos - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2008, 07:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
stb1swat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mexico during school. Washington during summer.
Posts: 728
Default Cmos

So after a number of power outages and an apparently crappy surge protector, my CMOS is broken. I have to short circuit it to even get the PC running, otherwise I get no visuals at all and my GPU fan just sits there spinning madly. If I do chose to short circuit it it says "CMOS settings wrong" and prompts me to set them in bios. Well, if I do change a single thing it crashes and restarts with the GPU madly spinning and again no visuals. This question is pretty easily answered: Is there any fix? If not...no biggy...I wasn't too fond of that Mboard anyway.
__________________

stb1swat is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 09:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Cmos

No way to fix that. Mobo got fried.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 10:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 881
Send a message via AIM to Ethan_Kaizer Send a message via MSN to Ethan_Kaizer
Default Re: Cmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
No way to fix that. Mobo got fried.
Yep. Not much you can do after bad power surges :\

If you need help picking a new board, you're at the right forums though
__________________
||Core 2 Duo E4600 @ 2.4 GHz (OC coming soon) || Biostar TP45HP || 4GB Kingston DDR2 667 RAM ||
Sapphire HD 4670 512mb @778/1140 || Antec Trio 650w || Maxtor 250gb 7200 RPM HDD || Lite-On DVD-RW || Black Aluminum Case||
Ethan_Kaizer is offline  
Old 10-31-2008, 11:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
stb1swat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mexico during school. Washington during summer.
Posts: 728
Default Re: Cmos

Newegg.com - ASRock P45R2000-WiFi LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
or
Newegg.com - EVGA 123-YW-E175-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 750i FTW SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
???

oh, forgot my system.
Core2duo wofldale E8400 3.0GHz fsb@1333
MSI 8800GTS G92
4GB Mushkin 1066 ram.
stb1swat is offline  
Old 10-31-2008, 12:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Cmos

I see you're willing to spend good money on nice boards. To protect that new board, I would invest in a good UPS with AVR. I in my opinion surge protectors are useless in areas where the power is bad. They take a hit a few times and then they don't protect any more.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 10-31-2008, 01:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
stb1swat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mexico during school. Washington during summer.
Posts: 728
Default Re: Cmos

Yes, I was thinking about that. What sort of money do those run at? $50-$100?
stb1swat is offline  
Old 10-31-2008, 01:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Cmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by stb1swat View Post
Yes, I was thinking about that. What sort of money do those run at? $50-$100?
UPS come in all price ranges. Keep your eyes open for free shipping deals as they aren't cheap to ship. Getting one locally may be cheaper. When you get your computer up and running, open up a new thread in the appropriate forum and we'll help you out. They are good investments. You don't want a crappy one.
__________________

KurrentEweser is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CMOS Checksum Error Greg Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 09-23-2008 11:26 PM
CMOS battery is not secure in its slot Chosenbkr Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-23-2008 03:17 AM
CMOS Checksum error - Defaults loaded MonkeyBusiness Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 05-19-2008 07:38 PM
CMOS and Motherboard troubles shade73 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-02-2008 12:32 AM
Resetting CMOS taking 30 min+ ??? Hookster264 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 09-16-2007 06:22 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.