Clock_Watchdog_Timeout - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2014, 09:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Clock_Watchdog_Timeout

I've recently been having a problem with BSODs, and, sometimes, the computer just locking up and freezing with no BSOD. The BSODs give me the error Clock_Watchdog_Timeout.

My understanding is that this is often caused by a faulty CPU. The strange thing is that it only seems to happen when launching certain games. I don't get the error while surfing the net, or working on my graphic design software, etc.

How do I determine if I need to get another CPU?

FYI--I don't think this is related, as it's been an issue for well over a year, while the Clock_Watchdog_Timeout is new... in Device Manager, there is always a yellow triangle near High Definition Audio Controller. I've been able to just disable it without any (noticeable) effects.

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 09:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Clock_Watchdog_Timeout

Bug Check 0x101: CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT (Windows Debuggers)

Thread related: How to fix my CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT error - Windows 8

I assume the specs in your sig are for the system you're having issues with?

Do you have any dump logs under C:\Windows\Minidump that you can upload so we can analyze?

Are you overclocked at all? If yes - drop it back to stock voltages/clocks/etc.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 04:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Clock_Watchdog_Timeout

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Bug Check 0x101: CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT (Windows Debuggers)

Thread related: How to fix my CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT error - Windows 8

I assume the specs in your sig are for the system you're having issues with?

Do you have any dump logs under C:\Windows\Minidump that you can upload so we can analyze?

Are you overclocked at all? If yes - drop it back to stock voltages/clocks/etc.
Yes, that's my rig.

Nothing under Minidump... I just reverted from 8.1 back to 8, hoping that might solve the issue. There has been one BSOD, but it froze and wasn't able to go further than 0% in writing the dump file.

There are, however, some dump files under windows.old, which would be from just a few days ago when I was still on 8.1 I'm attaching the latest one, which I assume was from the watchdog issue, although I can't be sure, as I don't know how to read it. If that's not it, I can always try to force my rig into doing it again.

The only thing that might be considered overclocked is the memory... it's rated for 2133, and that's where I have it set, although I'm guessing that 1333 is stock for the board?
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 05:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Clock_Watchdog_Timeout

I'm now getting another BSOD that I got once in the last week before I reverted to Windows 8: Machine_Check_Exception. I just got two of these in a row. I've attached the dump file.
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 09:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Clock_Watchdog_Timeout

Bug Check 0x9C: MACHINE_CHECK_EXCEPTION (Windows Debuggers)

This one is also related to CPU.

You have no dump logs attached to any of your posts, btw.

IMO I'd warranty your CPU.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 10:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,079
Default Re: Clock_Watchdog_Timeout

Quote:
Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970X @ 4.7GHz;
The specs you posted shows that your cpu is overclocked. It's default speed is supposed to be 3.5 ghz. your over by 1.2 ghz. That can cause problems especially if your on a stock Intel heatsink and if your pc has started running hotter from getting dirty over time
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 09:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Clock_Watchdog_Timeout

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Bug Check 0x9C: MACHINE_CHECK_EXCEPTION (Windows Debuggers)

This one is also related to CPU.

You have no dump logs attached to any of your posts, btw.

IMO I'd warranty your CPU.
For some reason, I was using "Add Video".

I'm now trying to attach the .dmp files, but I'm getting an upload error message that they are invalid files. Do I have to convert them to a text file, or something like that? If so, how do I do it?
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 09:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Clock_Watchdog_Timeout

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
The specs you posted shows that your cpu is overclocked. It's default speed is supposed to be 3.5 ghz. your over by 1.2 ghz. That can cause problems especially if your on a stock Intel heatsink and if your pc has started running hotter from getting dirty over time
That's what it's capable of, but I've put it back to stock now that I'm having errors.
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 09:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Clock_Watchdog_Timeout

Quote:
Originally Posted by earwicker7 View Post
For some reason, I was using "Add Video".

I'm now trying to attach the .dmp files, but I'm getting an upload error message that they are invalid files. Do I have to convert them to a text file, or something like that? If so, how do I do it?
Put them in a zip file and either attach via the forum, or upload to a filesharing site.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 03:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Clock_Watchdog_Timeout

dump files.zip

Here they are. The ones dated 11/6 and 11/16 are from 8.1, and 11/17 is from after I reverted to 8.
__________________

__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.