Clicking and blue screen crash - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2006, 10:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default Clicking and blue screen crash

A friend of mine just built me a computer with the following specs

----------------------------------------------
Motherboard: Asus A8V-VM Socket939 MicroATX Motherboard for AMD Athlon64 Processors (VIA KM890)
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3200+, MMX, 3DNow, ~2.0GHz
Memory: 512MB RAM
Hard Drive: 30 GB
Video Card: Onboard Graphics
Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
Sound Card: SoundMAX HD Audio O
Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I put in a graphics card which was a: NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT

I just put this straight into the motherboard, no wires attached to is or anything, i dont know alot about them you see, but i thought it couldnt be any harder than that..


Keep in mind i didnt even try anything on the computer before placing this graphics card in, didnt even turn it on, now sometimes i hear clicks coming from the pc, not sure what section of it, and 30 seconds later a blue screen comes up saying at the bottom:

Beginning dump of phsycal memory


I would really like to get this sorted as I want to play World of Warcraft without being disconnected every couple of hours, help out if you can .
__________________

Bradster is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 04:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

are u sure its a new HD sound like its failing :/
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 04:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default

yes it is, i got the price list of my mate once he made it for me
Bradster is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 04:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default

sorry for bump

the ram i upgraded too, took out the old 512 and put 4x PC2700U 256mb in it
Bradster is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 07:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

for the clicking :is it once in a while or is it constant? check for any fans scrapping the rim around it.

are all the RAM the same manufacturer? the 4x 256 mb
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 01:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default

I just recieved info that the clicking is natural, and yes the ram is from the same manafacturer
__________________

Bradster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.