Cleaned up, now bluescreen.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2006, 09:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Cleaned up, now bluescreen....

Ok, so last night I took my entire computer completly apart and layed all the parts out for a good cleaning, the dust was literaly black and all over the motherboard/ram/heatsinks. So I cleaned it up and put everything back in, still had the same overclock. I start it up and it is as slow as my brothers Celeron 500Mhz, which is VERY sad... I decided that it might have been because of an update for windows that was downloaded earlier, so I go and restart one more time just to find out that I BSOD right as soon as XP trys to start up with the overclock, at that point I decided it was my cheap ram giving up (the third stick that I have had for years now) so I take it out. It starts just fine and at full speed, but 10 min later it completly crashed, this time I decided to reset the BIOS and start and guess what? IT STARTS FINE!!!! I can only start it up in safe mode with my overclock now.... What the heck could have happened???? Possibly I some how ended up with a corrupt windows?? Oh even 1Mhz over stock with 60F temps idle I will get a BSOD at normal windows start up and it restarts, so there is no way to see what kind of error it is.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 11:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

so at stock speeds it runs fine? can you run dividers on your mem?
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 02:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

I tried the dividers like I used to that don't help, I had this thing overclocked 40% with the dividers it's just as soon as I clean the thing out and reasemble it all the OC wouldnt work, worked at the first start up but was slow, figured it was the updates I got earlier causing it to slow down like normal, so I restarted got a BSOD.... Right now stock is fine, but I won't be able to stay stock much longer....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 04:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

BUMB!!!!

Well now it will crash even with stock timings/speeds, I finaly got one of the BSOD errors, it happens ten min after start up and says Machine_Check_Error, any ideas??? Please give me several in the next hour... I can only be online at this computer for an hour and I have to get my computer fixed, I have a presentation on it that I have to show at a meeting tommorow for school.....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 05:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Bumpy... I fixed the problem, appears to be the newer windows update that is causing conflicts with graphics engines... Seems to be only Nvidia GPU's that are suffering from this update.... The local computer doctor seemed packed full of people complaining about the same issue as me... lol, I was the only one that brought the PC in because that was a last resort....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.