CHKDSK stuck - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2006, 09:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Default CHKDSK stuck

Hi, I ran a chkdsk from windows and then restarted my computer. It has gotten to stage for at 63% and stayed there for a few hours now. I have turned it off, tried again and few times with the same results. I even broke out the cd and did the windows repair thing and it restarted and did it again and that is where it is now, at 63% for the last 3 hours again. This is a new computer, only 6 months old. Dell Dimension 9150 Pentium dual core so I can not see how it would be bad or anything. I was not really having problems, just was told in a computer class that I should be doing that once a month, so did it today. Please advise what I should do. Thanks so much.
__________________

glassduck is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 05:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Sound like you might have a physical problem with your Hard Drive.


I would recommend you find out the manufacture of the hard drive on your system. (Find out your model # and log on to Dell's site and check the specs of your system).

Another way to find the model of your Hard Drive would be to go into the Control Panel-System-Click on the Hardware Tab-then Click on Device Manager. Expand where it says "Disk Drives" and it will tell you the make of your Hard Disk (Usually Maxtor,Western Digital etc.)

You can go on the manufacture's site for example Maxtor.com and dowload a program that creates a bootable diskette to test the drive. Reboot and make sure that you choose to boot from the floppy in your BIOS settings and run the Full Test.

If it fails I would contact Dell Tech support and if your PC is only 6 months old they will most likely send you a new drive.
__________________

JoeNewman is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 10:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 56
Default

If you have Maxtor Hard drive, test it to see if it fails or not here:
http://www.maxtor.com/portal/site/Ma...&downloadID=22


For Western Digital, here:
http://websupport.wdc.com/rd.asp?p=s...gDiagv504f.exe
__________________
The rigs:
1- ASUS P4S800D-X / INTEL PENTIUM 4 3000MHZ HT FSB800 / 1GB DDR RAM KINGSTON VALUERAM DUAL CHANNEL / AOPEN AEOLUS GEFORCE FX 5200 128MB/ 160GB MAXTOR DIAMONDMAX 9 ATA-133 / 10.2GB FUJITSU ATA-66
2-PC CHIPS M825G V9.2C / AMD ATHLON DDR 1333MHZ (2666 EFFECTIVE) / 1GB DDR 400 AT 333 (DUE TO ONE DDR 333 STICK / NVIDIA GEFORCE 4 MX 4000 / 120GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 / 60GB MAXTOR DIAMONDMAX 9
3-Dell Optiplex G1 / Intel Pentium II 400 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 4.2GB WD HDD / Some onboard crap 2MB card
4- ABIT BH6 / Intel Celeron 366 / 128MB RAM / 2GB Quantum HDD / 8MB ATI Rage 3D Pro
5-Intel SE440BX / Intel Pentium II 350 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 40GB Maxtor HDD / Matrox MGA Millenium G200 8MB
6- IBM Machine E5U / Intel Pentium II 350 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 3.2GB IBM HDD / 2.1GB Quantum Bigfoot HDD / ATI Rage IIC 4MB (BIOS says Mach 64)
7- Intel SEA440LX / Intel Celeron 333 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 4.2GB WD HDD / 4MB ATI Rage IIC
8- Intel AN430TX / Pentium MMX 200 / 96MB RAM PC-100 / 850MB WD / 524MB Seagate / ATI <ach 64 2MB
lhuser is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.