Checksum error, not detecting. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2006, 09:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default Checksum error, not detecting.

My old computer with a Tyan S1686 mobo and two Pentium 2 processors is acting odd.

One day it started up with a "checksum error". And now when I go to BIOS setup, it takes a long time to load it, while it normally went into bios immediately without loading. Also, it won't automatically detect if an IDE device is not there. It stops at "detecting", and I have to press escape to skip it (however, it WILL detect if there is something to be detected).

I'm guessing I need to reset the BIOS. How do you do that with older motherboards?
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 06:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 182
Default

See link below........ also check your manual to locate the terminals for a 'jumper'.
If you get inside your BIOS..... set your system back to
"Defaults". Hit F10 to "Save" your settings.
http://www.pcguide.com/ts/x/comp/mbs...earCMOS-c.html
John.....
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated.
JKnPA is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 06:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

First, pulll the battery off the Cmos with the power cord removed form the Power Supply. Keep it out for a couple of minutes and hit the power on button in the fornt of the puter with the psu still disconnected and then plug the battery back in. this will reset the bios to factory. If you are still getting the checksum error, which means the bios load is corrupted, you will need to flash the bios. Do the battery thing first and post the results.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 10:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469
Default

try changing the battery first..
__________________
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
http://www.techist.com/pc/f40/fully-...r-fs-t-139695/
microsoftne is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 10:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

replace the battery. checksum error normally means the CMOS battery is dying.
Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.