Checksum error, not detecting. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2006, 08:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default Checksum error, not detecting.

My old computer with a Tyan S1686 mobo and two Pentium 2 processors is acting odd.

One day it started up with a "checksum error". And now when I go to BIOS setup, it takes a long time to load it, while it normally went into bios immediately without loading. Also, it won't automatically detect if an IDE device is not there. It stops at "detecting", and I have to press escape to skip it (however, it WILL detect if there is something to be detected).

I'm guessing I need to reset the BIOS. How do you do that with older motherboards?

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 05:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 182

See link below........ also check your manual to locate the terminals for a 'jumper'.
If you get inside your BIOS..... set your system back to
"Defaults". Hit F10 to "Save" your settings.

Sig reinstated.
JKnPA is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 05:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102

First, pulll the battery off the Cmos with the power cord removed form the Power Supply. Keep it out for a couple of minutes and hit the power on button in the fornt of the puter with the psu still disconnected and then plug the battery back in. this will reset the bios to factory. If you are still getting the checksum error, which means the bios load is corrupted, you will need to flash the bios. Do the battery thing first and post the results.
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 09:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469

try changing the battery first..
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
microsoftne is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 09:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

replace the battery. checksum error normally means the CMOS battery is dying.
Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.