Checking GPU Temp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2008, 06:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Checking GPU Temp

I'm running a 8600GT OC Edition and wondering how I can check the temps on it, the nVidia Control Panel gives me an error when I try to click on Monitor Temperature Levels, says C:\Windows\system32\nvCplUI.exe Error! Open File Fails!, any way to fix that or another way to check my GPU temp?
__________________

Niverive is offline  
Old 02-18-2008, 07:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Checking GPU Temp

I use ATI tray tools but that mainly an Overclocking tool.
__________________

__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 02-18-2008, 08:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Checking GPU Temp

ATiTool or Rivatuner will give you temps/allow you to OC your card. nTune isn't really recommended to OC.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 02:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Re: Checking GPU Temp

Okay so I'm using Rivatuner now and the hottest I've seen my card get is around 70 C so far after playing WoW for 30 min turned up on max graphics, I think that's pretty good, what you guys think?
__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 07:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Checking GPU Temp

its fine
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 11:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Checking GPU Temp

Quote:
Originally Posted by Niverive View Post
Okay so I'm using Rivatuner now and the hottest I've seen my card get is around 70 C so far after playing WoW for 30 min turned up on max graphics, I think that's pretty good, what you guys think?
it went up to 70 with your speed at max?
that temp is fine, as long as it doesnt cross 80, but for 100 max speed i would expect it to get lower.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 04:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Checking GPU Temp

I think he means WoW graphics at max, not the card's fan speed at max.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 04:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Checking GPU Temp

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
I think he means WoW graphics at max, not the card's fan speed at max.
ah...then i guess its fine.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core Temp 0.96 mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 4 01-06-2008 10:55 PM
trust bios or core temp mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 5 12-11-2007 04:43 PM
Help choosing for next upgrade, GPU or CPU? ki9090 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 10-17-2007 06:22 AM
60C for motherboard temp good? advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 4 07-22-2007 10:21 PM
BRL-CAD installation. zippo Linux and Open Source 2 06-02-2007 09:11 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.