Is a cheap hard drive messing up my system? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2007, 12:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 70
Default Is a cheap hard drive messing up my system?

Hi all, I've been posting on here a lot about problems I've been having. I'll keep this short and give you the summary of what's been happening:

I would get system 32 error messages and pretty soon windows would not even start. I reformatted and reinstalled windowsXP. I have done this THREE times because I kept getting system32 corrupt or missing messages, corrupted files messages and some file called mom.exe was missing. Even after a clean install and a hard drive reformat. The last time this happened was when I had just reinstalled XP for the third time and didnt even have enough time to put anything on my hd other than XP, a game, and the normal mobo/vid card/monitor drivers I had to replace.

So my questions are:

1.Can maloware/spyware/viruses survive a hard drive reformat?

and

2. Can a cheap hard drive do this sort of thing to your system? ( I bought a seagate 250 gig HD at circuit city for $80 on sale)
__________________

Hellasweet is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 06:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: Is a cheap hard drive messing up my system?

hmm this seems strange but did you try a full format? this erases everything that's on it and most likely not be recoverable unlike quick format. also does the bios show the hard disk correctly? any wrong data shown in bios or during installation? even if there are any virus on the hard disk it will still be wiped out so only thing thats left is that if the hard disk is faulty or not. might have to rma for a new hard drive for that if its still new if not buy a new hard drive.
__________________

__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 06:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default Re: Is a cheap hard drive messing up my system?

Viruses Can Survive Formats .i had 1 and it wouldnt go
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 04:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Is a cheap hard drive messing up my system?

it might be your windows cd
Patchiz is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 06:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 146
Default Re: Is a cheap hard drive messing up my system?

Darik's Boot and Nuke (Hard Drive Disk Wipe)
use this to wipe the drive.

Support - Downloads and Utilities
use this to test the drive.

Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool
Use this to test your memory.

CDCheck - CD checking and recovery software
Use this to test your CD.

Then Reinstall windows. If you're still having problems, I haven't a clue. Oh and yes a defective hard drive can cause the problem, which is why you run DFT to test it. Also your HDD itself should have come with diagnostic tools too. Seagate's aren't cheap drives either, They're one of the best (THE best in my opinion.) Though the new seagate: Free Agent's have me worried since they are maxtors...
__________________
http://www.geocities.com/signature_s...dphxnoedge.jpg
System: Athlon 64 X2 3800+
EVGA Geforce 8600 GTS 256mb PCIE
ECS (pile of crap) Mobo
1.5 GB Corsair PC3200
Soundblaster Audigy Pro
Windows XP Pro, Lemming Optimized.
ShackledPhoenix is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 10:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Is a cheap hard drive messing up my system?

Could be your cheap HD. Yesterday went to get a Maxtor 300gb from Fry's Electronics, plugged it in and when I was trying to install my Windows SP2, it would just freeze 3/4 of the way done. Went to return it and bought a OB: Seagate 300gb SATA from Fry's Electronics and it booted up normally.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 08:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 70
Default Re: Is a cheap hard drive messing up my system?

Quote:
Originally Posted by advancedgeek View Post
hmm this seems strange but did you try a full format? this erases everything that's on it and most likely not be recoverable unlike quick format. also does the bios show the hard disk correctly? any wrong data shown in bios or during installation? even if there are any virus on the hard disk it will still be wiped out so only thing thats left is that if the hard disk is faulty or not. might have to rma for a new hard drive for that if its still new if not buy a new hard drive.
Yeah I'm sure I did a full format. Everything installed correctly with no hicups.

Sometimes when I reboot, it will say "boot disk has been changed" or something to that affect. I dont even touch my computer or monkey around with it so I dont know where these errors come from.
Hellasweet is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 04:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 70
Default Re: Is a cheap hard drive messing up my system?

I ran the CD check and these are the results on my hard drive:

Info
- date: 8/1/2007
- process: Check
- source: C:\
- source volume label:

Basic statistics
- time elapsed: 00:15:48
- overall transfer [kB/s]: 16,440
- folders processed: 3871
- files processed: 39098
- source bytes read: 14.8 GB (15,965,566,607 bytes)
- source average transfer [kB/s]: 36,379
- source clean transfer [kB/s]: 37,756

Errors
- errors: 29
- warnings: 543
- other: 28
Hellasweet is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 08:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Is a cheap hard drive messing up my system?

Seagate SeaTools desktop
Seagate SeaTools entreprise

use either one and run it on system boot to find any bad sectors
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 09:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 70
Default Re: Is a cheap hard drive messing up my system?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShackledPhoenix View Post
Darik's Boot and Nuke (Hard Drive Disk Wipe)
use this to wipe the drive.

Support - Downloads and Utilities
use this to test the drive.

Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool
Use this to test your memory.

CDCheck - CD checking and recovery software
Use this to test your CD.

Then Reinstall windows. If you're still having problems, I haven't a clue. Oh and yes a defective hard drive can cause the problem, which is why you run DFT to test it. Also your HDD itself should have come with diagnostic tools too. Seagate's aren't cheap drives either, They're one of the best (THE best in my opinion.) Though the new seagate: Free Agent's have me worried since they are maxtors...
How do I use the disk wipe? I download it but it wont install. it says to install a boot disk or something. I cant figure it out. Help me out.
__________________

Hellasweet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.