Changing the motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2006, 11:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 144
Default Changing the motherboard

Hello all,

Im getting a new motherboard so i can update it to use PCI:E Graphics

Is moving the processor etc to another board, an easy task?

Stu
__________________

stuaz is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 04:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

yes it is if u ground urself, dont touch the CPU's pins, dont put it in the wrong side, and put a new layer of thermal paste then ull be fine
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 07:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 49
Default

It can be a major project, but a good learning experience. After removing the old motherboard, you will need to remove the fan and heatsink from the processor. Do this with some care because sometimes they stick together. I'm assuming you are using the same processor. If so, you will want to clean off the old thermal compound on your processor and apply fresh compound (arctic silver). The new motherboard may need new memory. After everything is hooked up again, windows may freak when it wakes up with a new board. A repair windows installation may be needed. . . but I've usually gotten better results with fresh windows installs after a motherboard upgrade.

Have fun with it!
dmj94044 is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 07:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Fresh install of windows is always the best option. But if you don't want to spend hours customizing Windows, just boot from your old installation. It works most of the time. You should still back up all important files before switching the motherboard, just in case Windows doesn't work.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.