CD ROM tray - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2009, 01:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ehgit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cali
Posts: 186
Question Hello?

I am attempting to fix a friend of mines CD ROM. He brought it to me saying that the tray would not open. I took it apart and found no apparent defects. Here's the strange part (to me at least), the tray opens fine as long as the upper housing (metal casing) is NOT on. The second I place the upper housing onto it, the tray will not open. I have even tried using another housing with the same result. There doesn't seem to be anything that would prevent the tray from opening unless it has something to do with that little blue (stabilizing?) disk that is part of the upper housing. Any one know what I may be able to do without replacing the whole thing?
__________________

ehgit is offline  
Old 03-31-2009, 05:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Hello?

For 15 dollars i would opt to replace the drive. I bet you could find a used CD ROM at a local computer store for 15 dollars. If not you could purchase a new DVD-RW for under 30 bucks online...

Not worth the trouble IMO.
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 03-31-2009, 05:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Asylum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 138
Default Re: CD ROM tray

Yea just go out and buy 1...A cd or dvd rom drive now days are cheap...Post in the buy-sell-trade forums. Some1 will sell you 1 for 10 bucks ill bet!!
Asylum is offline  
Old 04-02-2009, 03:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ehgit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cali
Posts: 186
Default Re: CD ROM tray

Thanks Lex and Asylum, I knew it would be easier to just buy a new one, but it's the mystery of it that gets me! Why only when the housing is on does the stupid tray not open!! Things like this get to me; I just have to figure them out for some reason. I just have to know why.
OK, I'm over it....thanks again.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
What a world, what a world...
ehgit is offline  
Old 04-02-2009, 04:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: CD ROM tray

LOL, well maybe the friction isn't allowing the drive to open. Point is after 15 minutes of 'fiddling' i would just suggest purchasing a new drive. If i was your customer I wouldn't want a drive after you've dismantled it anyways because the part is obviously defective or broken.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Console command to send Window to Tray Baez Programming 2 08-09-2008 09:40 PM
window on both side's and see through mobo tray ste2425 Overclocking and Modding 7 08-04-2008 06:52 PM
blu-ray cd rom question azzyork New Systems | Building and Buying 4 03-29-2008 05:32 AM
AT&T Tilt Rom? Pepsiboy700 Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 0 02-16-2008 04:04 PM
Not staying in system tray! ZeroShade Microsoft Windows and Software 10 12-13-2007 04:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.